CPS News Centre

Nicky Inskip gives a statement to the media outside court

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 65 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "West Midlands"

Man who befriended victim at local pub convicted of murder

Darren Barnes, 48, has today (16 January) been convicted of murder for killing Edwin Bradley, 65, on the 2 July 2018. Barnes was found guilty at Wolverhampton Crown Court following trial.

| Press Release , Violent crime , West Midlands News

Man sentenced for murder after stabbing elderly victim 29 times

Madni Ahmed (20) has today been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of 36 years. He was found guilty of murder following trial on the 10 January 2019 at Birmingham Crown Court.

| Press Release , Violent crime , West Midlands News

Man guilty of murdering ex-partner and her mother

A man has today (17 December) pleaded guilty to killing his former partner and her mother.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Teenager guilty of rape and murder of 14-year-old girl

A 16-year-old boy has today (14 December) been found guilty of the rape and murder of a teenage girl.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Man jailed for life for murder of midwife

A man has today been jailed for life, to serve a minimum of 17 years, for the murder of midwife Samantha Eastwood.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Man convicted of murdering grandmother

A man who stabbed his 74-year-old grandmother to death has today (19 October) been convicted of her murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Man sentenced for killing vulnerable mother

A 41-year-old man has today (12 September) been jailed for life, to serve a minimum term of 29 years, after being found guilty at Birmingham Crown Court of the murder of a woman from Worcester.

| Press Release , Violent crime , West Midlands News

Man sentenced for killing his ex-partner

A 50-year-old man has today (14 September) been sentenced at Stafford Crown Court to 15 years imprisonment, with an extended sentence, for the manslaughter of his ex-partner.

| Press Release , Violent crime , West Midlands News

Gunman jailed for life after being convicted of attempted murder

A 24-year-old gunman has today been sentenced at Birmingham Crown Court to life imprisonment, to serve a minimum of 15 years, after he was found guilty of attempted murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , West Midlands News

Man jailed for murder of girlfriend in Telford

A man has been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of more than 11 years for stabbing his girlfriend to death at their home in Telford.

| Press Release , Violent crime , West Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Shannyn Quinn
Email: shannyn.quinn@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1296

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Sarah Cartwright
Email: Sarah.Cartwright@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673806

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0087

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/ Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading