Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast
Main content area

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 640 results for area "CPS"

Former police officer jailed for National Action membership

A former probationary police officer has been sentenced at the Old Bailey to a total of four years and four months in prison after he was exposed as a secret member of a neo-Nazi group.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Two police officers charged with misconduct in connection with investigation into death of sisters in Wembley

Two police officers have been charged with misconduct in public office in connection with photographs taken and circulated in relation to a murder crime scene.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

DPP Speech to the Bar Council, 24 April 2021

I’m always grateful to be given the opportunity to address you, and after the last year – the likes of which we have never experienced before – I am particularly pleased to be able to come to thank you for all you have done, and to look ahead together.

| Speech , CPS News

Cheshire couple jailed for sexual abuse that Judge says 'ruined victims' lives'

A couple have been jailed for sexually abusing three young girls after a judge at Chester Crown Court said they had ruined their victims’ lives.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Accountant given 11 years' imprisonment for £1.3 million fraud

An accountant who defrauded the NHS, companies, and individuals out of more than £1.3 million has been jailed recently (15 April 2021) for multiple counts of fraud and theft.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Carer sentenced for threatening and taunting a dementia sufferer

A 24-year-old woman has been sentenced for ill-treating an 84-year-old resident at the Wirral care home where she worked.

| Press Release , Domestic abuse , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Police officer guilty of membership of banned group and terrorism offences

A probationary police officer has been convicted of being a member of a banned far-right organisation and possessing documents that could have been of use to a terrorist.

| Press Release , Terrorism, Sexual offences , CPS News

London-wide launch of operation to convict those who assault NHS staff

Operation Cavell aims to increase convictions and protect NHS staff on the frontline.

| Press Release , CPS, London North, London South News

CPS launches ambitious plan to combat economic crime

The first ever CPS Economic Crime strategy sets out an ambitious plan to combat these offences which are estimated to cost billions each year.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Serving and former police officers charged with misconduct in public office

Rosemary Ainslie, Head of Special Crime at the CPS, said: “Following a referral of evidence by the Independent Office for Police Conduct, the CPS has authorised charges against one serving and one former West Midlands Police officer for misconduct in public office.

| Press Release , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Florence Williamson
Email: Florence.Williamson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Sabriyya Rasul
Email: Sabriyya.Rasul@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3519

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3398

Chief Press Officer (National)

Hywel Barrett
Email: Hywel.Barrett@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3457

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Wendy Wyeth
Email: wessex.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673873

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top