CPS News Centre

Female reporter - photo

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 234 results

Mother who poisoned and suffocated her baby is jailed for life

A mother who suffocated and poisoned her eight-week-old baby, causing his death, has been jailed for life with a minimum term of 14 years and nine months today (22 February).

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

DPP speech to the International Summit on Modern Slavery

Wilton Park, 21 February 2018

| Speech , International and organised crime , CPS News

CPS hosts international summit to improve the prosecution of modern slavery

Prosecutors and law enforcement representatives from around the world will be taking part in a summit to strengthen international cooperation in the fight against modern slavery and human trafficking.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS News

Academic who tormented victims online jailed for 32 years

A scientist and former university lecturer who used the internet to seek out and blackmail dozens of people into providing him with sexually explicit images has been jailed for 32 years. He was also made the subject of a Sexual Harm Prevention Order and will be registered on the sex offender register.

| Press Release , International and organised crime, Cyber / online crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Man jailed for money laundering after stealing cash from Bermudan government

An accountant from South Wales who stole and laundered more than £1.3m while working for the government of Bermuda has been jailed today (16 February).

|

Man jailed for attempted murder of four children

A man has been jailed for the attempted murder of four young children.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Man given life for murdering French tourist

A man has been jailed for life today and ordered to serve at least 17 years in prison for murdering a French tourist who was visiting his family in London.

|

Former football coach Barry Bennell convicted of sexual abuse

A former football coach has today been convicted of sexually assaulting young players between 1979 and 1991.

|

Builder jailed for life for step-niece's rape and murder

A builder has been jailed for life with a minimum term of 40 years for raping and murdering his step-niece before hiding her body in a deep freezer.

|

Man jailed for ten years for fatal dog attack

Aaron Joseph jailed for ten years after his dog fatally attacked another man.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Follow our blog: blog.cps.gov.uk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Chief Press Officer

Richard Jones
Email: Richard.JonesRC@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0629

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Julie Seddon
Email: julie.seddon@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455933

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Anita Jack
Email: anita.jack@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2818

Thames and Chiltern
Louise Rosher
Email: louise.rosher@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0118 951 3640

Wessex
Marie Meunier
Email: Marie.Meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

 

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading