CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 670 results for area "CPS"

CPS statement on Kevin Flanagan and Kathleen Salmond sentencing

Kevin Flanagan and Kathleen Salmond were sentenced today (Friday 13 December) to life in prison.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Merseyside brothers jailed for a multi-million pounds drugs conspiracy

Two Merseyside brothers who headed up a multi-million pound drugs business and went on the run to Thailand when the net closed in on them have been jailed for a total of 28 years.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Essex couple jailed for child abuse

A couple from Essex who sexually abused four children and recorded footage of their horrific crimes have today been sentenced at Chelmsford Crown Court.

Mark Gable received a total sentence of 11 years and 6 months and Jessica Fry received a total sentence of 10 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, East of England News

‘Dangerous’ married man who impregnated 14-year-old girl is jailed for five years

A married man who had sex with two teenage girls aged 14 and 15, impregnating the 14-year-old has been jailed for five years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

CPS statement on the sentencing of Christopher Goble

Warwickshire vicar Christopher Goble was sentenced yesterday (11 December) to 20 months' imprisonment for making indecent images of children. He pleaded guilty to the offence on 31 October 2019 at Warwick Crown Court.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

British wife of Syrian fighter guilty of funding terrorism

A young woman who was a supporter of violent jihad and sharia law has been found guilty today (12 December) of sending money to help fighters in Syria.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Two pairs of brothers guilty of violent attacks on Birmingham men

Two pairs of brothers have been convicted at Birmingham Crown Court today (11 December) for their involvement in serious violent attacks on Birmingham men in April and May 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Three teens jailed for robbery via the use of Grindr

Three teenagers have been jailed for numerous robberies and assault of men who had been enticed via one of the largest social media dating apps, Grindr.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Hate crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Teen guilty of murdering youngest person to die in 2019 London gang violence

A gang member has been convicted of murdering a 14-year-old schoolboy in east London.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Couple guilty of the murder of Lisa Bennett, who disappeared six years ago

A couple who drowned a homeless woman in their flat and then claimed her benefit money have been found guilty of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading