CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 562 results for area "CPS"

Dementia-faker who hid her father’s death faces jail for £750,000 benefit fraud

An amateur actress who feigned dementia and hid her father’s death for 12 years so she could claim £750,000 in public funds faces jail for the one of the largest ever cases of benefit fraud by a single person.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Stephen Nicholson jailed for murdering 13-year-old Lucy McHugh

A paedophile who groomed a 13-year-old girl after moving into her family home then killed her to keep her silent has today been jailed for murder.

Stephen Nicholson began abusing Lucy McHugh from the age of 12 her after moving in with her family in Southampton.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Breast-ironing recognised as child cruelty and assault by CPS

Breast-ironing should be prosecuted as a form of child abuse, the CPS says in new guidance published today.

| Press Release , Domestic abuse , CPS News

Hashem Abedi, brother of the Manchester Arena bomber, charged with 22 counts of murder

Hashem Abedi, the brother of the Manchester Arena bomber, arrived back in the UK on 17 July following a request made by the CPS Counter Terrorism Division to the Libyan authorities.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Parliament attacker guilty of attempted murder

A man who deliberately drove his car into cyclists and police officers outside Parliament has been convicted of attempted murder today (17 July).

|

Thief who drugged and killed father-of-three guilty of murder

A thief who killed a father-of-three after poisoning him with date rape drug GHB has been found guilty of his murder today (15 July 2019) at the Old Bailey.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Speech by Max Hill QC, DPP, to the Policing and Security All-Party Parliamentary Group, 15 July 2019

Good evening and thank you for inviting me here today. It is my first APPG as DPP, although not my first engagement with parliamentarians. I have been pleased to be able to give evidence at three committees so far, and have met with a number of your colleagues.

| Speech , CPS News

Train passenger jailed for a frenzied attack that killed a father

A train passenger who confronted a father and then stabbed him to death in front of his son was found guilty of murder today, Friday 12 July 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Speech by Max Hill QC, DPP, to the Bar Council in Cardiff, 6 July 2019

Bore Da. It’s a pleasure to be here in Cardiff for the first Saturday morning meeting outside of London. As you know, the CPS maintains a comprehensive presence here in Wales, with our offices in Cardiff, Swansea and Mold. I spent Monday and Tuesday of last week here in Cardiff, with all of our teams.

| Speech , CPS News

Synagogue arsonist sectioned under Mental Health Act

A 52-year-old man who wrote songs calling for violence against Jewish people has been ordered to be detained in a hospital for treatment after pleading guilty to torching Exeter synagogue whilst suffering a psychotic episode.

| Press Release , Terrorism, Hate crime , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading