Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 687 results for area "CPS"

Met firearms officers charged after shooting in London

Two officers from the Metropolitan Police have today (29 October) been charged following a non-fatal shooting in south London in 2018. The incident occurred at around 08.10 on 3 December along Haydons Road in south Wimbledon.

| Press Release , CPS News

CPS decision following a recent allegation of a sexual assault outside England and Wales

Jenny Hopkins, the head of the CPS’ Special Crime and Counter Terrorism Division, said: “Sexual offences can have a devastating and lasting impact on victims, and the CPS will always prosecute cases where our legal test is met.

| Press Release , CPS News

September's coronavirus review findings

The findings of the CPS review for completed prosecutions in September under the Coronavirus Act and Health Protection Regulations are detailed in the table below.

| Press Release , CPS News

CPS Says: The CPS is working hard to improve prosecution rates across the country

A recent article on The Guardian titled ‘Convictions for rapes in London less likely than in 2015, research shows’ has raised concerns about falling convictions in rape and sexual offence cases in London, despite a rise in reports.

| CPS says , Sexual offences , CPS News

Mugging gang jailed over terrifying late-night robbery spree

A gang of muggers have been jailed after carrying out a night-time campaign of violent robberies on lone victims.

| Press Release , CPS, North West News

Absconded fraudster ordered to pay £37 million

A high-net-worth fraudster who skipped his trial and fled to Dubai has been ordered (26 October 2020) to pay over £37 million - and faces ten years in prison if he fails to pay.

| Press Release , Proceeds of crime , CPS News

Impact of coronavirus revealed in latest CPS performance data

Prosecution data for the first quarter of 2020/21 – covering the coronavirus lockdown period – has today been published.

| Press Release , CPS News

Man jailed for life for cold-blooded hammer killing in Plymouth

A man has been jailed for life for the murder of Adrian Cieslik in Plymouth.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South West News

Burglar guilty of murdering 88-year-old in his home

A burglar has been found guilty of murdering an 88-year-old man in his home at the height of lockdown.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

CPS says: Rape is not 'the perfect crime'

A recent feature on Sky News described rape as ‘the perfect crime’ (99 per cent of rapes reported to Police do not result in legal proceedings – October 15 2020). The CPS is very concerned about the impact this harmful claim could have on victims coming forward. To be clear, of the thousands of people who go through the justice system every year, many are convicted of rape and serious sexual offences.

| CPS says , Sexual offences , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07720 207118 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer (National)

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top