CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 629 results for area "CPS"

Postgraduate students found guilty of central London nightclub rape

Ferdinando Orlando, 25, and Lorenzo Costanzo, 26, led the woman into a side room at the Toy Room Club near Oxford Street in the early hours of 26 February 2017.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

Fiyaz Mugal of TellMAMA on building trust through tackling hate crime

Fiyaz Mugal, co-chair of the CPS Community Accountability Forum and founder of TellMAMA, talks about building trust and confidence in communities through tackling hate crime

| Article , Hate crime , CPS News

eBay seller pleads guilty to illegally trading endangered animal skulls

A collector who illegally traded the skulls and skeletons of endangered animals on eBay without the correct documents has today pleaded guilty.

| Press Release , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

DPP calls for ‘stigmatising’ mental health laws to be overhauled

Out of date laws which stigmatise defendants with mental health issues should be overhauled, the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) has said today (Monday 14 October).

| Press Release , CPS News

Howard League for Penal Reform: Parmoor Lecture

Thank you for inviting me this evening, I am honoured to follow a long line of distinguished speakers, several of them friends of mine, and all of us admirers of the Howard League.

| Speech , CPS News

Gang member jailed for 15 years for 'ride-out' and running drugs line from prison

A member of one of Waltham Forest’s organised crime groups who took part in ‘ride-out’ against a rival gang before going on to run a drugs line from inside prison, has been jailed for 15 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Drug offences , CPS, London North News

Son who fatally stabbed his parents over dog dispute sentenced

A son who confessed to killing both of his parents in a row about his dog has been sentenced to life imprisonment.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man sentenced for destroying bat nest

Iain Turner, 50, from Dorset, was fined to a total over £7,142 for destroying a bat roost on Friday 11 October at Bournemouth Crown Court.

| Press Release , CPS, Wessex News

Man who bludgeoned his wife to death convicted of murder

A man who bludgeoned his wife to death in the stables they owned in Cheshire has been found guilty of her murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Prison officer jailed for inappropriate relationship with prisoner

Prison officer Rachel Barnes, 29, became involved in the inappropriate relationship with Sebastian Vassell, 28, while working at HMP Belmarsh.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading