CPS News Centre

Nicky Inskip gives a statement to the media outside court

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 485 results for area "CPS"

Man jailed over Jeremy Corbyn egg assault

A man who hit the leader of the Labour Party with an egg on his head has been jailed for 28 days.

| Press Release , CPS, London North News

Life sentence for Leicester rape and attempted murder

A Leicester man has been sentenced to life in prison for the rape and attempted murder of a woman in a park in the city.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Three men sentenced for involvement in New Tredegar murder

A man has been sentenced for murder at Newport Crown Court, while two men who helped him move the body were sentenced for attempting to pervert the course of justice.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Three jailed for student visa immigration scam worth £650k

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Gang members convicted over shooting of mother and child

Three men who plotted a gangland revenge attack in which a mother and her seven-year-old son were shot on their doorstep have been convicted of conspiracy to cause GBH with intent.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, North West News

Teenager jailed for rape at Creamfields music festival

A teenager who raped a woman in her tent at the Creamfields Music Festival has been jailed for six-and-a-half years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Abusive wife convicted of murdering husband

An abusive wife who subjected her husband to long-term physical abuse has been convicted of his murder today (20 March 2019).

| Press Release , Domestic abuse , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Men who ran film file-sharing website sentenced

Four men who ran a file-sharing website which leaked films online – sometimes before they were released in cinemas - have been sentenced today (18 March).

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Gang imprisoned for stealing more than £1m of housing benefits from London councils

Seven benefit assessors have been sentenced to prison for a total of 17 years for their roles in housing benefit fraud which saw more than £1m stolen from three councils in London.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Driver jailed for knocking over and injuring Tesco employee

A driver who knocked over and seriously injured a woman during an incident in a Tesco car park in Rickmansworth has been jailed today (18 March 2019) for 38 months.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Sarah Cartwright
Email: Sarah.Cartwright@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673806

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0906

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading