CPS News Centre

Nicky Inskip gives a statement to the media outside court

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 460 results for area "CPS"

Returnees from Iraq or Syria

There are a number of news stories today about people returning from Syria or Iraq. Some of the articles reference comments made by Max Hill. These comments were made in his previous capacity as independent reviewer of terrorism legislation and not as the Director of Public Prosecutions.

| CPS says , CPS News

Man jailed for attempting to murder his GP with a crossbow

A man who tried to kill his GP with a crossbow has been sentenced to 20 years in prison for attempted murder today (15 February 2019).

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Collision on the A149 at Sandringham

The Crown Prosecution Service has decided that no further action should be taken against a driver involved in a collision on the A149 at Sandringham.

| Press Release , CPS News

Derby street robber guilty of manslaughter of 100-year-old woman

A Derby man has been convicted of robbery and manslaughter for an attack on a 100-year-old woman. Artur Waszkiewicz attacked Zofija Kaczan as she walked to her local church on the morning of Monday 28 May 2018.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Tattooist convicted of illegal body modifications

A tattooist has today (12 February) pleaded guilty to carrying out illegal body modifications including the removal of a person’s ear.

| Press Release , CPS, West Midlands News

Stansted Airport case

The prosecution of 15 defendants following an incident at Stansted Airport in 2017 has led to a number of misleading reports about the case.

| CPS says , CPS News

Independent report welcomes work of CPS Special Crime and Counter Terrorism Division

The Special Crime and Counter Terrorism Division (SCCTD) of the CPS has been recognised today (5 February) in an independent inspection report for its strong leadership and governance.

| Press Release , CPS News

Mother first to be convicted of female genital mutilation

The mother of a young girl has today become the first person to be convicted of female genital mutilation offences in England and Wales.

| Press Release , CPS, London North News

HMCPSI finds that International Justice and Organised Crime Division continuously delivers its work to a high standard despite challenging casework

The International Justice and Organised Crime Division has engaged staff, a visible and proactive senior management team, and is held in high regard by internal and external stakeholders, according to a report published today by Her Majesty’s Crown Prosecution Service Inspectorate (HMCPSI). The inspection did not look at casework quality.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS News

Fighting for justice: Go behind the scenes at the CPS

How the CPS brings criminals to justice is the subject of a series of documentaries which will be repeated on BBC Two later this month.

| Press Release , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Shannyn Quinn
Email: shannyn.quinn@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1296

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Sarah Cartwright
Email: Sarah.Cartwright@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673806

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0087

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/ Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading