CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 703 results for area "CPS"

313 prosecutions for assaults on emergency workers completed in first month of lockdown

More than 300 prosecutions for assaults on emergency workers were completed in the first month of lockdown, CPS data reveals.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS News

CPS statement on Barry Bennell charging decision

Geoff Fryar, Head of the Complex Casework Unit of CPS Mersey Cheshire, said: “The Crown Prosecution Service can confirm that Richard Jones, aka Barry Bennell, today (18/5/2020) appeared at Warrington Magistrates’ Court via video link from HMP Littlehey. At the hearing Jones, 66, was charged with nine sexual offences in relation to two complainants.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

CPS announces review findings for first 200 cases under coronavirus laws

Prosecutors have reviewed more than 200 finalised cases under the coronavirus legislation up to the end of April, with any incorrect charges withdrawn and overturned.

| Press Release , CPS News

CPS uses new technology as offender jailed for three months for attempting to deliberately infect police officers with COVID-19

The Crown Prosecution Service continues to bring criminal charges against people who attempt to deliberately infect emergency workers.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

CPS Says: Stalking offences under coronavirus lockdown

There has been some discussion about how stalking cases are investigated and prosecuted during the current lockdown. The CPS would like to clarify our approach.

| CPS says , CPS News

Offenders jailed for coughing and spitting at North West emergency workers

CPS prosecutors in the North West continue to bring criminal charges against people who deliberately cough or spit at emergency workers and other essential workers while claiming to have coronavirus.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, North West News

Two years' imprisonment for coronavirus police assault

A Leicester woman has been sentenced to a total of two years in prison for assaulting police officers arresting her, including biting and coughing at them, claiming she was infected with the coronavirus.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Hate crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Purse-snatching prolific offender jailed for COVID-related offences

A prolific offender who snatched a purse from a female pedestrian and then brandished a syringe threatening to infect passers-by with Coronavirus, AIDS and hepatitis, has been jailed for three years and eight months at Sheffield Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

CPS case redefines the legal test for ‘dishonesty’ in criminal law

A CPS case about a dishonest care home owner who defrauded wealthy residents of more than £4m has clarified the definition of dishonesty in criminal law.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Nottingham hospital bike thieves jailed

Two Nottingham drug users have been jailed for breaking into bicycle stores at the Queen’s Medical Centre Hospital in Nottingham and stealing bikes from NHS staff.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading