CPS News Centre

Nicky Inskip gives a statement to the media outside court

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 359 results for area "CPS"

Prime Minister murder plotter convicted

A man who planned to murder the Prime Minister by rushing into 10 Downing Street wearing a suicide vest has been convicted of terrorism offences.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

British pensioner jailed for sexual abuse in Kenya

A pensioner has been jailed for more than 18 years for sexually abusing two children in Kenya.

| Press Release , International and organised crime, Sexual offences , CPS News

Group jailed for 47 years after £450,000 maternity payment scam

Twelve people who plotted to claim more than £450,000 in maternity payments for babies which did not exist have been jailed for 47 years today (18 July).

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Man jailed for murdering his wife

A man has been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of 14 years for murdering his wife.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, East of England News

Online jihadi who called for attack on Prince George jailed for life

A man from Lancashire who encouraged Islamic extremists to wage jihad in the West, including targeting Prince George and injecting poison into supermarket ice-cream, has been sentenced today (13 July).

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Care home boss who stole millions from residents jailed

The owner of a care home who tried to defraud residents out of £4.1million by isolating them from their families and persuading them to make him a beneficiary of their wills has been jailed today (13 July).

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Family of neglected teenage boy guilty of manslaughter

The mother and grandmother of a teenage boy who died after suffering neglect have been convicted of his manslaughter.

Jordan Burling’s mother Dawn Cranston, 45, and his grandmother Denise Cranston, 70, were found to both have played a part in the ill-treatment which led to his death.

|

Coldstream Guard jailed for 19 years after being convicted of rape

A Coldstream Guard convicted of raping a woman he targeted whilst on a night out has been jailed for 19 years.

Connor Brayley, 24, attacked the woman in the early hours of 14 December last year after spotting her alone in Windsor town centre.

|

Man jailed for attempting to smuggle illegal immigrants into UK

An Albanian man who attempted to smuggle illegal immigrants into the UK on an inflatable boat has been jailed.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS News

Football coach convicted of dozens of sexual assaults - UPDATE

A former football coach who exploited his position to abuse young men and boys over two decades has been convicted of non-recent sex offences.

|

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Shannyn Quinn
Email: shannyn.quinn@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1296

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Email: ThamesChiltern.ABC@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01727 798700, select option 5

Wessex
Sarah Cartwright
Email: sarah.cartwright@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673806

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading