CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 47 results for crime type "Terrorism" & area "CPS"

School friends jailed after holiday to join Daesh

Two school friends who claimed they went to Turkey for a relaxing summer holiday have been jailed for planning to sneak into Syria so they could help Daesh commit further atrocities.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Life sentence for white supremacist in MP murder plot

A far right extremist who planned to murder his local MP with a sword has been sentenced to life today.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Man jailed for leaving terrorist material in shoes

A man who secretly left memory sticks containing terrorist material inside shoes while Muslim worshippers were praying has been jailed today.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Teenage army cadet guilty of bomb plot

A teenager from Bradford was found guilty on 2 May of making a bomb at home after viewing videos online featuring death, mutilation and torture. He told the jury he had done it as a joke and to show off to other students.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Vengeful loner jailed for terrorism plot against his hometown

A white supremacist who was plotting a massacre at a football match in his hometown has today (30 April) been jailed for nine years.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

British man jailed for funding overthrow of Syrian government

A man from Sheffield has today (11 January) been jailed for sending money to his brother in Syria who was fighting against the Syrian government with the hope of establishing an Islamic state.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Aspiring Daesh fighter convicted

A man from Birmingham who hoped to travel to Daesh-controlled areas and fight alongside the group has been convicted of acts in preparation of terrorism today (27 December).

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Couple jailed for bomb factory at home

A couple have been jailed today after pleading guilty to having explosives at their home including one of the same type used in the Manchester Arena bombing in May 2017.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Bradford man jailed for funding terrorism abroad

A man has been jailed today for sending money to a man in Pakistan he had never met and which the prosecution said would be used to fund terrorism.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Members of banned British neo-Nazi group jailed

Six people including a couple have been jailed today for being members of National Action, a proscribed group that glorifies Hitler and the Third Reich.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0906

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading