CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 28 results for crime type "Hate crime" & area "CPS"

Man jailed for coronavirus-related hate crime

A 27-year-old man has been jailed for 16 weeks for a coronavirus-related hate crime.

| Press Release , Hate crime, Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Everton football fan convicted of hate crime

A football supporter who shouted racial abuse at a player during a game between Crystal Palace and Everton in August 2019 has been convicted of a hate crime.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, London South News

Football fan who made monkey gestures at black player convicted of hate crime

A football fan who made monkey gestures towards a black football player after he had scored a goal has been convicted of a hate crime.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Transphobic hate crime results in increased sentence for Mold teenager

A man who abused a Police Community Support Officer for being transgender has received an uplifted sentence at Mold Magistrates’ Court.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

LGBT+ bullying and hate crime schools pack launched

“Hate incidents and hate crimes can have a devastating effect on the individuals and communities who are targeted for simply being who they are. Everybody has the right to live free of persecution, but hate crime tramples upon this right.”

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS News

Fine and football banning order for man who racially abused footballer

A Stoke City football fan has been fined £310 and received a football banning order for three years after he racially abused a footballer during a Stoke City versus Nottingham Forest game in September.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Three teens jailed for robbery via the use of Grindr

Three teenagers have been jailed for numerous robberies and assault of men who had been enticed via one of the largest social media dating apps, Grindr.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Hate crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Racist who sprayed swastika on Welsh Assembly building jailed

A university student who put up racist posters in Cardiff city centre and sprayed a swastika on the Welsh Assembly building in a targeted hate campaign was jailed for 16 months on 2 December.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Tougher hate crime sentences at record levels

Courts are handing down tougher sentences in almost three out of four hate crime cases – the highest proportion ever, according to new figures published today (25 October).

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS News

Man pleads guilty to anti-Muslim abuse following New Zealand mosque shootings

A 38-year-old man, who was caught on video making offensive comments over the New Zealand mosque attack, has pleaded guilty today (25 October) to religiously aggravated harassment at Westminster Magistrates' Court.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading