CPS News Centre

Nicky Inskip gives a statement to the media outside court

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 8 of 8 results for crime type "Hate crime" & area "CPS"

Tougher hate crime sentences at record levels

Courts are handing out tougher sentences in more than two-thirds of hate crime cases for the first time, a Crown Prosecution Service report published today (Tue 16 Oct) reveals.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS News

Disabled victims of hate crime receiving improved service from prosecutors - report

A network of prosecutors dedicated to tackling hate crime has helped the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) improve the experience of disabled victims, an inspection report has found.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS News

Racist who called for murder of Muslims and Labour leader jailed

An extremist who posted online messages calling for Muslims to be put on bonfires and said he would kill Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn if he came to power has been jailed for 16 months today (9 August).

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS News

Life sentence for Leicester hate crime driver who ran over Muslim woman

A man who drove onto the pavement to run over a Muslim woman in Leicester has been jailed for life for attempted murder today (27 March).

| Press Release , Violent crime, Hate crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Leader and deputy leader of Britain First convicted of religiously-aggravated public order offences

The leader and deputy leader of Britain First have been convicted after filming and harassing people they incorrectly believed were involved in a rape trial at Canterbury Crown Court.

|

Online support guide for disabled victims and witnesses of crime

The Crown Prosecution Service has published an online support guide specifically for disabled victims and witnesses of crime.

| News Item , Hate crime , CPS News

Viscount convicted after death threat against Brexit campaigner

A Viscount who offered a reward on Facebook for the 'accidental' death of Gina Miller has been convicted of sending menacing messages.

| News Item , Hate crime, Cyber / online crime , CPS News

Man jailed for 'terrifying' hate crime attack

A man who carried out a hate crime assault on a Muslim woman, including pulling off her niqab in a crowded shopping centre, has been jailed today (3 July).

| News Item , Hate crime, Violent crime , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Sarah Cartwright
Email: Sarah.Cartwright@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673806

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0906

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading