CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 31 - 40 of 678 results for area "CPS"

Daesh fanatic jailed for masterminding 8,000 matches terror attack

A man who kept a Daesh flag at his Newcastle home has been jailed for life for helping two men plan a murderous rampage in Germany.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Jealous boyfriend guilty of murdering lodger in east London

A jealous boyfriend has been convicted of murdering his lodger after accusing him of kissing his girlfriend.

Carlos Velez, 20, stabbed 26-year-old David Martinez with a kitchen knife multiple times inside the flat they shared in North Birkbeck Road, Leytonstone on 6 March last year.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Update: CPS case redefines the legal test for ‘dishonesty’ in criminal law

A CPS case about a dishonest care home owner who defrauded wealthy residents of more than £4m has clarified the definition of dishonesty in criminal law.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Conman carer ordered to repay almost £12,000 he stole from vulnerable victims

A former care home assistant who stole thousands from vulnerable victims to feed his gambling and drug habit, has been ordered to repay £11,873.

| Press Release , Proceeds of crime , CPS News

Pizza delivery driver guilty of manslaughter

A pizza delivery driver who deliberately drove into two friends has been convicted of manslaughter and assault occasioning actual bodily harm.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Churchwarden who manipulated his elderly neighbours has been ordered to pay almost £150,000

A churchwarden who carried out a targeted campaign of manipulation against two elderly neighbours has been ordered to pay £146,561.02.

| Press Release , Proceeds of crime , CPS News

Coventry man jailed for 13 years for rape

A Coventry man has been jailed for the rape of two vulnerable women.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Joint National Police Chiefs' Council, CPS and College of Policing statement in response to the report from the Information Commissioner's Office

“Police investigators must balance the need to follow all reasonable lines of enquiry, guaranteeing a fair trial, with the need to respect privacy. We thank the Information Commissioner for this detailed and thoughtful report which acknowledges the complexity of this issue, and the growing volumes of data which exist in criminal cases. We will now carefully consider the recommendations of the report.

| Press Release , CPS News

CPS review finds improvements in coronavirus charging compliance

A CPS review of completed prosecutions under coronavirus laws last month has found the legislation was correctly applied in almost 85 per cent of cases.

| Press Release , CPS News

Women jailed after policeman was struck with toilet roll holder at illegal lockdown party

Two women who attacked police attending reports of an illegal house party during the early period of the coronavirus lockdown have been sentenced.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading