CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 31 - 40 of 614 results for area "CPS"

Gun-toting anti-Muslim guilty of hate crime

A man who posted violent messages about Muslims alongside photos of himself posing topless with a fake shotgun has been convicted of stirring up racial and religious hatred.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

‘County lines’ drug dealer found guilty of stabbing a police officer during arrest

A ‘county lines’ drug dealer was today found guilty of stabbing a police officer during his arrest for supplying drugs on 21 February 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Drug offences , CPS, Wessex News

Six men convicted of Rotherham grooming gang offences

UPDATED: Five men were sentenced on 30 August 2018. Read the notes to editors for the full breakdown of their sentences.

Six men have been convicted of grooming young girls in Rotherham in the late 1990s and early 2000s.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Machete-wielding drug user sentenced to 12 years for unprovoked attack

A machete-wielding drug user was sentenced to 12 years today at Sheffield Crown Court for wounding with intent and having an offensive weapon.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Rapist sentenced to eight years’ imprisonment for attack on vulnerable woman

Matthew Jowitt, aged 18 has today (22 August) at Sheffield Crown Court been sentenced to eight years' imprisonment and four years on extended license, for raping and sexually assaulting a woman with learning difficulties as she walked to work. The woman was dragged into woodland when the attack took place on 14 May.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Man jailed for sexual assault of autistic teenager

A man who sexually assaulted a vulnerable autistic teenage boy in Birmingham has been jailed.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

CPS statement in relation to the investigation into PC Harper’s death

Chief Crown Prosecutor Jaswant Narwal, said: “Following the death of PC Harper in Berkshire, the Crown Prosecution Service has today authorised Thames Valley Police to charge Jed Foster, 20, with murder and the theft of a quad bike.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Man jailed for New Year’s assault on woman in Clapham

A man who launched an attack on a woman outside a nightclub in Clapham on New Year's Eve has been sentenced to 32 months in prison.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Man jailed for swallowing 67 cocaine wraps before flying from Brazil to Heathrow

A man who swallowed 67 wraps of cocaine before taking a flight from Brazil to London has been jailed for four years.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, London North News

Sexual predator who targeted young women in Hull jailed

A sexual predator who admitted to preying on young women in Hull was given an eight-and-a-half year prison sentence at Sheffield Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading