CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 31 - 40 of 758 results for area "CPS"

Car trader and associates found guilty of laundering stolen £1.25 million

Three people who conspired to launder £1.25 million stolen from a business linked to a property entrepreneur have been convicted for their part in the plot.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Senior lecturer who sent 300 emails in under a month to former student found guilty of harassment

A senior lecturer who sent 300 emails in under a month to a former student has been found guilty of harassment.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

Five directors jailed for hiding payments to avoid paying £2.6 million in tax

Five directors of a printing and mailing business who attempted to conceal sales of more than £3 million in a bid to avoid paying tax have been jailed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

First quarterly CPS prosecution data published

UPDATED prosecution data has been released by the Crown Prosecution Service today (30 January).

| Press Release , CPS News

Thief guilty of bungled attempt to steal Magna Carta

A man whose attempt to steal a Magna Carta failed when he could not break through the security glass protecting it has today been convicted.

| Press Release , CPS, Wessex News

Transphobic hate crime results in increased sentence for Mold teenager

A man who abused a Police Community Support Officer for being transgender has received an uplifted sentence at Mold Magistrates’ Court.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Woman jailed for conning her friend into giving up her job for a dream post that never existed

A woman has been jailed for conning her friend into giving up her job to take up a dream post that never existed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Four people jailed for the death of Courtney Valentine-Brown

Today four people have been jailed for the death of Courtney Valentine-Brown following a dispute over a debt.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East of England News

Fake taxi driver given 12 years for attack on student

Muhanad Adem was sentenced to 12 years in prison at Leeds Crown Court for raping a University of Leeds student. A jury took less than three hours to reach a unanimous guilty verdict on 20 December 2019.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Former parliamentary candidate given suspended sentence for child sexual abuse photos

A former parliamentary candidate has been given a suspended jail sentence for downloading images which showed children being sexually abused.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading