CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 21 - 30 of 644 results for area "CPS"

Man convicted of murdering missing ex in 'highly unusual' case

The former partner of a woman who went missing from her Kent home has been convicted of her murder in a case described by prosecutors as “highly unusual”.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Man jailed for murdering Brent Council worker in Alperton

A driver who drove on the wrong side of the road before deliberately driving into a Brent council worker has been convicted of murder and jailed for a minimum of 15 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man pleads guilty to anti-Muslim abuse following New Zealand mosque shootings

A 38-year-old man, who was caught on video making offensive comments over the New Zealand mosque attack, has pleaded guilty today (25 October) to religiously aggravated harassment at Westminster Magistrates' Court.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Delivery driver who smuggled counterfeit cigarettes in pallets of grapes found guilty of tax evasion

A delivery driver who smuggled more than 8,000,000 untaxed cigarettes in pallets of grapes has been found guilty of tax evasion.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Tougher hate crime sentences at record levels

Courts are handing down tougher sentences in almost three out of four hate crime cases – the highest proportion ever, according to new figures published today (25 October).

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS News

Schoolboy found guilty of attempting to kill fellow pupil with knife

A sixteen-year-old boy has been found guilty of attempting to murder another pupil whilst they were walking down a school corridor between lessons.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

CPS statement in relation to the death of Libby Squire

Chief Crown Prosecutor Gerry Wareham, said: “Following the death of Libby Squire in Hull on 1 February, the Crown Prosecution Service has today authorised Humberside Police to charge Pawel Relowicz, 25, with rape and murder. Libby’s family have been informed.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS News

UPDATE: Man sentenced for blowing up his failing furniture shop to claim on the insurance

A man has been found guilty of blowing up his failing furniture shop and devastating a community so that he could claim on his insurance.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Teenager jailed over unprovoked racist attack in Brighton

One teenager has been jailed and another has received a suspended prison sentence for an unprovoked racist attack on a Korean student in the street in Brighton, which left him with facial injuries.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, South East News

Brutal Bradford rapist sentenced to life

A brutal rapist who deliberately initiated relationships with vulnerable women has been sentenced to life, to serve a minimum of nine years, at Bradford Crown Court today (23 October) for raping and assaulting two women in 1985 and in 1999.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading