CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 21 - 30 of 703 results for area "CPS"

Man who wandered around local hospital to see the impact of coronavirus jailed

A man who wandered around his local hospital to see the impact of coronavirus, and posted about his visit on Facebook, was sentenced to three months in prison today following a CPS Thames and Chiltern prosecution.

| Press Release , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

CPS statement following the death of Victoria Woodhall

Gerry Wareham, Chief Crown Prosecutor for Yorkshire and Humberside said: “Following the death of Victoria Woodhall in Middlecliffe, Barnsley on 29 March, the Crown Prosecution Service has authorised South Yorkshire Police to charge Craig Woodhall, 40, with murder. Victoria’s family have been informed.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Christopher Guest More

Nicola Wyn Williams of the Complex Casework Unit of CPS Mersey-Cheshire said: “Christopher Guest More (Jnr), 42, has today (31 March 2020) appeared before Chester Crown Court in connection with a number of serious offences, including murder, following the torture and killing of Brian Waters in Cheshire on 19 June 2003.

| Press Release , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Man jailed for assault of emergency worker after using threat of coronavirus to avoid being arrested

A dangerous man who assaulted an emergency worker and told police he had coronavirus to try to avoid being arrested has been jailed for 31 weeks.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

‘Coronavirus coughs’ at key workers will be charged as assault, CPS warns

Anyone using coronavirus to threaten emergency and essential workers faces serious criminal charges, the Director of Public Prosecutions warns today.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS News

Beware fraud and scams during Covid-19 pandemic

Criminals are using the Covid-19 pandemic to scam the public - don’t become a victim.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Four convicted of shooting innocent Sainsbury's worker in mistaken identity park killing

Rene Montaque, Karlos Gracia, Alhassan Jalloh and Taalib Rowe shot Kwasi Mensah-Ababio in the head in Monks Park in Wembley. They did so falsely believing he was a rival gang member.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man jailed for coronavirus-related hate crime

A 27-year-old man has been jailed for 16 weeks for a coronavirus-related hate crime.

| Press Release , Hate crime, Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Grenfell fraudster who wrote ‘Glenfell’ as address jailed for five years over £32,000 con

A fraudster who claimed to be a Grenfell Tower resident who was in hospital recovering from surgery when he was actually in prison at the time, has been convicted of fraud and jailed after racking up a bill of nearly £32,000.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London North News

Former Oxford academic who had almost 3,000 indecent images of children jailed

A former Oxford academic who has written about the ethics of child pornography has been jailed today, after almost 3000 indecent images of children and more than 300 prohibited images were found on his computer.

| Press Release , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading