CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 21 - 30 of 678 results for area "CPS"

DPP Speech to the Bar Council – 14 July 2020

Introduction Hello and thank you for having me. Firstly I’d like to offer my apologies that I am not able to attend every meeting of the Bar Council, but rest assured I do appreciate the Bar Council and our CPS representatives attend keep me updated.

| Speech , CPS News

Latest findings for CPS coronavirus review

The CPS review of prosecutions completed in June under the Coronavirus Act and Health Protection Regulations found 99 out of 141 were charged correctly.

| Press Release , CPS News

Man jailed for falsely imprisoning and raping a woman in Nuneaton

A man who falsely imprisoned and raped a woman in her 60s has been given a 17-and-a-half-year sentence.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Terrorist given life for Pride attack plot

A restaurant worker who plotted a terror attack at the Pride parade in London has been jailed for life and told he must serve at least 25 years in prison.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Social worker jailed for emptying the bank accounts of two people in her care

A social worker who took more than £550,000 from people in her care has today been jailed for more than seven years.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

St Paul’s Cathedral bomb plotter given life

A woman who scoped out St. Paul’s Cathedral in preparation for a suicide bomb attack has been given a life sentence today and must serve at least 14 years before she can be considered for release.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

CPS says: Prosecuting rape - judicial review evidence

There have been a number of misleading and inaccurate reports about how rape is prosecuted by the CPS following coverage about the End Violence Against Women Coalition’s (EVAW) judicial review. We are concerned that these reports will deter victims from coming forward.

| CPS says , Sexual offences , CPS News

CPS praised for innovative response to coronavirus pandemic

The CPS has been praised for its response to the coronavirus pandemic in a report published today.

| Press Release , CPS News

CPS statement following Reading incident

Jenny Hopkins, Head of Special Crime and Counter Terrorism Division at the CPS, said: “Following an incident at Forbury Gardens in Reading on the evening of June 20, the Crown Prosecution Service has today authorised Counter Terrorism Policing South East to charge Khairi Saadallah

| Press Release , CPS News

Hit and run biker sentenced for causing nine year old gymnast life-changing injury

A hit and run motorcyclist who ploughed into a nine year old gymnast, resulting in his lower leg being partially amputated, has been sentenced to three years’ imprisonment at Hull Crown Court today. He has also been handed a driving disqualification of five and a half years.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading