CPS News Centre

Female reporter - photo

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Latest news
Showing 21 - 30 of 234 results

Two men sentenced for supplying weapons and ammunition

A man who sold firearms to criminals has been jailed for 14 years today for conspiracy to transfer prohibited weapons and ammunition.

|

Pair guilty of indecent assaults on schoolboy

A retired teacher and his former partner have been found guilty of indecently assaulting a schoolboy more than three decades ago.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, East of England News

Man jailed for manslaughter of police officer who died last year after being struck by stolen vehicle in 2013

A man has admitted manslaughter after the death last year of a police officer who he had severely injured in 2013 after striking him in a stolen car.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

CPS Response to HMCPSI Area Assurance Inspection of CPS South East

CPS South East has engaged staff, set clear priorities with a strong vision and has used a peer review approach to improve performance in its Rape and Serious Sexual Offences team, according to a report published today (Tuesday 30 January 2018) by Her Majesty’s Crown Prosecution Service Inspectorate (HMCPSI).

|

Hatton Garden burglars ordered to pay £8.2m or face extra prison time

Six men involved in the Hatton Garden burglary have been ordered to pay back £8.2 million or face having years added to their prison sentences.

|

Metropolitan Police Service and Crown Prosecution publish review into R v Allan

The Metropolitan Police Service (MPS) and Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) are today, Tuesday, 30 January, publishing the findings of the joint review carried out into the disclosure failures in the case of R vs Allan, which was dropped at trial in December 2017.

|

Man jailed for stealing from victims of Manchester terrorist attack

Christopher Parker has been jailed for over four years for stealing from Manchester terrorist attack victims

|

Joint press release from the Crown Prosecution Service and National Police Chiefs’ Council - Action on Disclosure

A package of measures to improve how the criminal justice system deals with disclosure was announced today.

|

Truck driver jailed for fatal collision while using mobile phone

A truck driver who was using his mobile phone at the time his vehicle was involved in a fatal collision has been jailed for three years.

|

Man convicted for encouraging others to “Take a break, come to jihad”

A man from south London has been found guilty today of posting eight videos on YouTube with the intention of inspiring others to carry out terrorist acts in support of Daesh.

|

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Follow our blog: blog.cps.gov.uk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Chief Press Officer

Richard Jones
Email: Richard.JonesRC@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0629

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Julie Seddon
Email: julie.seddon@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455933

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Anita Jack
Email: anita.jack@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2818

Thames and Chiltern
Louise Rosher
Email: louise.rosher@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0118 951 3640

Wessex
Marie Meunier
Email: Marie.Meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

 

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading