CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 22 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "North West"

Man guilty of murdering Maggie Smythe in Bolton

A 40-year-old man has been found guilty of murdering his ex-partner, whose remains were found in a former pub's car park.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

David Connors guilty of murder of Billy Livesley

David Connors has been found guilty of the murder of 21 year old Billy Livesley at a car park in Abram, Wigan in December.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

Gang members convicted over shooting of mother and child

Three men who plotted a gangland revenge attack in which a mother and her seven-year-old son were shot on their doorstep have been convicted of conspiracy to cause GBH with intent.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, North West News

Inside man guilty of conspiracy to rob G4S security guards

A G4S security guard, Thomas Keane (DoB 25/5/1966), has today been found guilty of conspiracy to rob his colleagues of £167,000 in two armed robberies and one attempted robbery at banks across Greater Manchester.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

Gangsters found guilty of murder following rival feud

A 38-year-old man has today (16 January) been convicted of the murders of Paul Massey and John Kinsella who were shot dead in separate incidents almost three years apart in a gangland feud.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, North West News

Man given life sentence for murdering friend outside Stockport pub

A 30-year-old man who ran over his friend whilst driving at a number of people outside a club has been given a life sentence for murdering his friend and attempting to murder another man.

| Press Release , Driving offences, Violent crime , North West News

Two convicted over death of toddler

Two people have today 2 November been found guilty of the causing the death of toddler Ellie-May Minshull-Coyle.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

Man jailed for 'honour' crime

A member of the travelling community has been jailed for assaulting his niece for being in a relationship with an English man.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

Northumbria Police sergeant jailed for assaulting a man in his own home

A police sergeant from Northumbria has been jailed for two-and-a-half years for assaulting a man in his own home in Workington while off duty.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

Life sentences for youths who murdered Sait MBoob

Five men and two boys have been given life sentences for the murder of 18-year-old Sait Mboob who was attacked close to Millenium Park, Moss Side in August 2017. They were also sentenced for attacking and wounding three other victims.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading