Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast
Main content area

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 21 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "Cymru/Wales"

Men sentenced for murdering teenager at Barry Docks in drug feud

A group of men who chased a rival drug dealer through Barry before cornering and killing him have been sentenced at Newport Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Cymru/Wales News

Wrexham man sentenced to life imprisonment for murdering girlfriend

A man who strangled his girlfriend and called 999 the following day to report her death has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Cardiff Crown Court.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , Cymru/Wales News

Man sentenced for Cimla murder

An alcoholic who smashed his way into another man’s home and beat him to death has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Swansea Crown Court on 4 February 2021.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Cymru/Wales News

Cardiff men jailed for “gangland-style” attack

Two men convicted of attempting to murder a man in the street using a machete and sawn-off shotgun have each been sentenced to a total of 24 years’ imprisonment at Merthyr Tydfil Crown Court.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Cymru/Wales News

Husband convicted of murdering friend

A father-of-three who murdered a man over his relationship with his wife has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Swansea Crown Court. He must serve a minimum of thirty years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Nationwide Organised Crime Gang sentenced

Eighteen members of a gang who ran a county lines drugs operation stretching from north Wales and Merseyside as far as Anglesey, Cornwall and Scotland have been sentenced to a total of nearly 147 years’ imprisonment, with individual sentences ranging from 4 to 21 years at Mold Crown Court.

| Press Release , Drug offences, Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Killer sentenced for Adamsdown murder

A Cardiff man who attacked his vulnerable neighbour for shouting at his dog has been sentenced, four years after he was tried and convicted of the same assault.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Man convicted of murder following city centre stabbing

A Cardiff man has been convicted of murder at Newport Crown Court after he stabbed a 21-year-old man following an argument over a spilled drink.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Cymru/Wales News

Banned rugby player jailed for assaulting police officer

The former captain of Rygbi Gogledd Cymru (North Wales Rugby) has been sentenced to 21 months (9 March 2020) for inflicting GBH on a North Wales Police officer.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

UPDATED: Crossbow killer guilty of murdering pensioner in North Wales

A sports therapist who shot dead a pensioner with a crossbow as he adjusted his satellite dish has been convicted of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Florence Williamson
Email: Florence.Williamson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3398

Chief Press Officer (National)

Hywel Barrett
Email: Hywel.Barrett@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3457

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Wendy Wyeth
Email: wessex.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673873

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top