CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 11 results for crime type "Sexual offences" & area "London North"

Children’s doctor sentenced for downloading indecent images of children

A paediatric doctor who downloaded 36 indecent images of children has been sentenced.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London North News

Edmonton man who abducted and sexually assaulted 10-year-old jailed

A man who lured a ten-year-old into his home by offering her chocolate biscuits and cake before sexually assaulting her has been jailed for 10 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North News

Rapper convicted of hotel room sexual assault

A man has admitted sexually assaulting a woman in a hotel room. US rapper Jabari Shelton, 27, pleaded guilty today [3 January] on the day he was due to face trial at the Old Bailey.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North News

Man jailed for possessing paedophile manuals

A man who possessed five paedophile manuals including a Harry Potter-inspired child sex abuse manual has been jailed.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North News

Obstetrician admits possessing extreme pornographic images

A London obstetrician has admitted possessing extreme pornographic images.
 
Manish Gupta, 47, admitted two counts of possessing an extreme pornographic image and one count of possessing a prohibited image of a child at Snaresbrook Crown Court on Friday, 19 October.
 

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North News

Man jailed for 11 years after raping young girls

His first victim was 13-years-old when Ampadu, also 13 at the time, took her to a building and forced her to engage in sexual activity with him. He also filmed the act on his phone and used it to try and blackmail his victim into further encounters.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North News

Football coach jailed after sexually assaulting young boy

Carl Wright, 58, has been jailed for three years and six months after admitting sexual activity with a child and false imprisonment

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North News

Man who forced teen to engage in sexual act in Romford public toilet guilty

A man who confronted a schoolboy in a public toilet and forced him to engage in a sexual act has been convicted of his crimes.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North News

Man jailed for trying to buy young girl to rape and torture

A man who tried to broker a swap for a 12-year-old girl to rape and torture in exchange for providing crystal meth has been jailed for a total of nine years with an extended licence period of four years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Drug offences , London North News

Former priest convicted of abusing 10 boys in 1970s and 1980s

A former priest has been convicted of abusing 10 boys at a Catholic-run school in the 1970s and 1980s. He then fled to Kosovo to escape justice.

| News Item , Sexual offences , London North News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0906

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading