CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 78 results for crime type "Sexual offences" & area "CPS"

Man jailed for sexual assault of autistic teenager

A man who sexually assaulted a vulnerable autistic teenage boy in Birmingham has been jailed.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Sexual predator who targeted young women in Hull jailed

A sexual predator who admitted to preying on young women in Hull was given an eight-and-a-half year prison sentence at Sheffield Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Dating site rapist guilty of further sex offences

A rapist who preyed on women he met on dating website Match.com has been convicted of sexual offences against five further victims.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, East Midlands News

Catholic priest jailed for sexual abuse at Lancashire seminary

A Catholic priest has been sentenced to 18 years' imprisonment for sexually abusing two teenage boys at St Joseph's College in Upholland in the 70s and 80s.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, North West News

Teacher jailed for abusing four schoolgirls

A paedophile PE Teacher, Sean Aldridge, was today sentenced to 12 years' imprisonment at Portsmouth Crown Court abusing four women while they were pupils aged 13 to 16 at Warblington School, Havant, between 2006 and 2012.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Wessex News

UPDATED: How the CPS proved the case against serial liar ‘Nick’ over false claims of VIP child abuse ring

The man known as ‘Nick’, whose false child abuse allegations sparked a £2million investigation into a VIP paedophile ring, will spend 18 years in jail after the CPS proved him to be a serial liar and a fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime, Sexual offences , CPS News

Childminder dubbed 'Peter Pan nanny' jailed for sexually abusing children

A childminder who dubbed himself the ‘Peter Pan nanny’ has been jailed for sexually abusing three children.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

MP charged with three sexual assaults

A CPS spokesperson said: “The Crown Prosecution Service has today (Monday 22 July) charged Charles Elphicke, MP for Dover, with three charges of sexual assault against two women.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

Teenager convicted for researching mass shootings before trying to buy handgun

A teenager who researched mass shootings before trying to buy a handgun is facing prison after being convicted of firearms offences.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

‘Black cab rapist’ Worboys guilty of another four sex attacks

Serial sex attacker John Radford, formerly Worboys, has today (20 June) admitted drugging a further four women in his black cab.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading