CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 88 results for crime type "Sexual offences" & area "CPS"

Postgraduate students found guilty of central London nightclub rape

Ferdinando Orlando, 25, and Lorenzo Costanzo, 26, led the woman into a side room at the Toy Room Club near Oxford Street in the early hours of 26 February 2017.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

Rapist father convicted

A man who repeatedly raped his daughters, fathering six children, has been found guilty at Swansea Crown Court.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Domestic abuse , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Birmingham man jailed for extreme pornography

A Birmingham man has been sent to prison for possessing extreme pornography involving bestiality and child abuse images.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Drug offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Man pleads guilty after breaching order and trying to meet up with a child for sexual activity

A man who was the subject of a Sexual Harm Prevention Order has admitted breaching the conditions and trying to meet up with a 14-year-old girl to engage in sexual activity.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

CPS secures first upskirting convictions

Four men have been convicted so far under the new ‘upskirting’ legislation, the Crown Prosecution Service can reveal today.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

Married man arrested in London phone box for trying to meet children

A married man has been jailed for six years for sharing indecent images of children and trying to meet children

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London North News

Grooming gang member convicted for trying to intimidate his victim

A Rotherham grooming gang member has been convicted of trying to intimidate a girl he had sexually assaulted to stop her giving evidence against him.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

Annual Violence against Women and Girls report published

Latest figures on prosecutions involving Violence against Women and Girls (VAWG) have been released today by the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS).

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

Paedophile sentenced to 29 years for systematic sexual abuse and rape of a child

A paedophile has been sentenced for 29 years for raping and sexually abusing a child for over seven years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, East of England News

Jail for internet paedophile who paid for webcam sex acts

A 54-year-old married man who paid Filipino prostitutes to sexually abuse children on webcam has been sentenced to nine years' imprisonment at Cardiff Crown Court. He was also made subject to an indefinite Sexual Harm Prevention Order.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading