CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 110 results for crime type "Sexual offences" & area "CPS"

Discharged army officer who groomed and formed relationships with underage girls online jailed

A discharged army officer who groomed and formed relationships with underage girls online has been jailed.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London North News

Man jailed for attempted kidnap and sexual assault of child

A Staffordshire man, who sexually assaulted and attempted to kidnap an 11-year-old girl playing by a rope swing, has been jailed for eight years with a four-year extended licence.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

CPS statement on the sentencing of Farirai Shereni

Farirai Shereni, 26, was given a sentence of 13 years' imprisonment today (Friday 17 January) after being convicted of raping a woman while she was on her way to work in Birmingham city centre.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Religious leaders convicted of multiple counts of rape and child sexual abuse

A church pastor has been convicted today (14 January 2020) of multiple (24) counts of child sexual abuse and rapes. Michael Oluronbi, age 60, was the faith leader of a religious group - Cherubim and Seraphim Church in Birmingham - when he committed these vile crimes.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Teacher, 49, jailed after sexual chats with undercover officer who posed as child

A primary school teacher has been jailed for 20 months today (Friday 10 January) for sending sexual communication to a 12-year-old girl who was in fact an undercover police officer.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Homeless man who kidnapped and sexually assaulted eight-year-old boy jailed

A homeless man who kidnapped and sexually assaulted an eight-year-old boy has been jailed for 11 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

Paedophile sentenced for further abuse

A children’s care home manager, who is already serving seven life sentences for abusing nineteen children, has been sentenced to another fourteen years’ imprisonment at Mold Crown Court.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Britain’s most prolific rapist jailed for life following historic CPS prosecution

The most prolific rapist ever tried in a British court has today been jailed for life after drugging and assaulting 48 men, following the largest prosecution of its kind in CPS history.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, North West News

Ten men prosecuted in first year of upskirting legislation

Ten men were convicted of 16 upskirting offences in 2019 – the first year legislation making it a specific crime was available to prosecutors.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

UPDATE: Four men found sentenced for systematically abusing a vulnerable 13 year old girl

Four Midlands men have been jailed for the rape and sexual abuse of a 13-year-old girl who was vulnerable following the death of her father.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading