Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 32 results for crime type "Fraud and economic crime" & area "Mersey-Cheshire"

Man sentenced for claiming benefits for incapacity while joining anti-fracking protests

A man who was taking part in anti-fracking demonstrations while claiming benefits on the basis that he couldn’t travel without overwhelming psychological distress has been sentenced.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Man jailed for fake DNA test to deny parentage of two sons

A man has been jailed for faking a DNA test so that he could deny being the father of his two sons to the Child Maintenance Service.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Woman sentenced for fraudulently claiming benefits for relatives

A woman who fraudulently claimed almost £95,000 in benefits for three of her relatives has been sentenced.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Former probation officer sentenced for benefit fraud

A former probation officer has been sentenced for benefit fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Chilean men jailed for "tourism burglaries" in Cheshire

Two men from Chile who travelled to England to burgle luxury homes in affluent areas of Cheshire have been sentenced to a combined total of seven years' imprisonment.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Cheat jailed for fraudulently claiming more than £1 million in benefits

A benefit cheat who used two identities to fraudulently claim more than £1 million in benefits has been jailed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Company director jailed for tax fraud

A company director has been jailed for fraudulently evading around £100,000 in tax.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Former councillor sentenced for fraudulent expense claims

A former councillor in Cheshire has been sentenced for fraudulently claiming around £5,000 in expenses over five years.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Council payments team leader jailed for stealing from her employers

A council payments team leader who stole more than £260,000 from her employers has been jailed for four years.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Man jailed for benefit fraud after hijacking identity of family friend

A man from Mozambique who hijacked the identity of a Portuguese national and fraudulently claimed more than £121,000 in benefits has been jailed for two years.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer (National)

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top