CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 47 results for area "North West"

Offenders jailed for coughing and spitting at North West emergency workers

CPS prosecutors in the North West continue to bring criminal charges against people who deliberately cough or spit at emergency workers and other essential workers while claiming to have coronavirus.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, North West News

Father and son jailed for Haslingden murder

A father and son have today been jailed for life for murdering a 69-year-old man outside a pub in Haslingden, Lancashire on 25 August 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, North West News

Britain’s most prolific rapist jailed for life following historic CPS prosecution

The most prolific rapist ever tried in a British court has today been jailed for life after drugging and assaulting 48 men, following the largest prosecution of its kind in CPS history.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, North West News

Finance Manager sentenced for stealing over £180K from Keswick School

A 52-year-old woman has today been sentenced to 32 months' imprisonment for stealing approximately £188,000 from Keswick School.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, North West News

Man jailed for partially blinding police officer in Darwen ammonia attack

A 46-year-old man has today been jailed for 14-and-a-half years for an ammonia attack on police officers who attended a 999 call.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

Crumpsall school finance officer jailed for theft and fraud

A 44-year-old finance officer has been sentenced for stealing over £27,000 from Abraham Moss Community School in Crumpsall, where she had worked for 23 years.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, North West News

Public nuisance banned from Whitehaven town centre

A persistent public nuisance has been banned from Whitehaven town centre after police worked with prosecutors and businesses to gather evidence for a legal order.

| Press Release , North West News

Man guilty of murdering Maggie Smythe in Bolton

A 40-year-old man has been found guilty of murdering his ex-partner, whose remains were found in a former pub's car park.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North West News

Catholic priest jailed for sexual abuse at Lancashire seminary

A Catholic priest has been sentenced to 18 years' imprisonment for sexually abusing two teenage boys at St Joseph's College in Upholland in the 70s and 80s.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, North West News

Man sentenced for calling a New Zealand mosque gunman a 'hero' on Facebook

A 47-year-old man has been sentenced today for making racist Facebook comments in the wake of terror attacks in New Zealand in March this year.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, North West News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading