Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast
Main content area

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 39 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "Mersey-Cheshire"

Man sentenced for assaulting a work colleague after offering to walk her home

A 24-year-old man from Southport has been sentenced for assaulting a female work colleague after offering to walk her home from a Christmas night out.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Teenager who took photo of a man he had battered convicted of attempted murder

A teenage drug dealer from Manchester who took a photo of a Cheshire man he had battered has been convicted of attempted murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Three men sentenced after shooting at McDonalds Drive-Thru

Three men have been sentenced after a man was shot in broad daylight as he waited in a McDonalds Drive Thru on Merseyside.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Two brothers sentenced for joint enterprise murder

Two brothers who shot dead a 20-year-old man in his own home in Liverpool have been sentenced for the joint enterprise murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Man jailed for machete attack in road rage incident

A Merseyside man has been jailed for attacking a man with a machete in a vicious road rage incident.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Teenager jailed for murdering a schoolboy he was having a relationship with

A teenager has been jailed for murdering a 15-year-old boy he had been having a sexual relationship with.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Sixth man convicted following the imprisonment, torture and killing of a Liverpool man

A man who went on the run after being involved in the brutal kidnapping and killing of another man in Liverpool has been jailed for life.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Three teenagers found guilty after youth shot near retail park

Three teenagers, one as young as 15, have been found guilty of causing grievous bodily harm with intent following the shooting of a 17 year old boy in Prescot on Merseyside in January.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

UPDATED: Four sentenced for murder, kidnap, robbery and possession of a firearm and ammunition

Four men who kidnapped two teenage boys and shot a man dead in his house have been found guilty of murder, kidnap, robbery and possession of a firearm and ammunition.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Teenager guilty of murdering family friend at memorial gathering for dead toddler

An 18-year-old man has been found guilty of killing a family friend at a party held to mark the anniversary of the death of a toddler in a road accident.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Mersey-Cheshire News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Florence Williamson
Email: Florence.Williamson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3398

Chief Press Officer (National)

Hywel Barrett
Email: Hywel.Barrett@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3457

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Wendy Wyeth
Email: wessex.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673873

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top