CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 138 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

Thief who drugged and killed father-of-three guilty of murder

A thief who killed a father-of-three after poisoning him with date rape drug GHB has been found guilty of his murder today (15 July 2019) at the Old Bailey.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Train passenger jailed for a frenzied attack that killed a father

A train passenger who confronted a father and then stabbed him to death in front of his son was found guilty of murder today, Friday 12 July 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Couple who hid dead body in attic jailed

A heroin addict who murdered a man and hid the body in the attic has today been jailed for life and ordered to serve at least 22 years behind bars.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

‘Wimbledon prowler’ jailed for £500,000 spree

A prolific burglar who regularly travelled 200 miles from his home to break into wealthy homes in south London has been jailed for X years today.

| News Item , Violent crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Soldier murdered Britain’s Got Talent singer

A former army fusilier has been found guilty of murdering his girlfriend in a frenzied knife attack at his Battersea home.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, London North News

Couple found guilty of causing toddler’s death

A couple have been convicted of causing the death of a toddler after they lied to cover up the true cause of his injuries.

| Press Release , Domestic abuse, Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Father and son sentenced in slavery case

A father and son who ran a scrap metal business have been jailed for a total of 21 years for repeatedly assaulting a vulnerable man being forced to work for them.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Trio who tried to make pregnant teen miscarry plead guilty to crimes

Three people who beat a pregnant teenager and forced blue laundry detergent down her mouth in order to trigger a miscarriage have pleaded guilty to their crimes.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, London North News

CPS accepts Sally Challen’s manslaughter plea

The Crown Prosecution Service has today accepted Sally Challen’s guilty plea to manslaughter on the grounds of diminished responsibility.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Husband sentenced to over 16 years for killing his wife on Christmas Day

A man who pleaded guilty to murdering his teenage wife on Christmas Day last year has been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of 16 years and 82 days in prison.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading