Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast
Main content area

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 186 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

Film crew member guilty of Warner Bros Studio knife attack

A film crew member who stabbed his co-worker in the neck during a tea break at Warner Bros Studio in Leavesden has been convicted of wounding with intent.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Parents convicted over baby’s death

The father of an eight-week-old girl who died at her home in Crowborough, Sussex, has been convicted of her murder and the baby’s mother has been found guilty of allowing her death.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Pawel Relowicz guilty of murdering 21-year-old Hull student Libby Squire

Meat plant worker and father-of-two, Pawel Relowicz, 25, has been found guilty today (11 February) at Sheffield Crown Court of the rape and murder of 21-year-old Libby Squire on 1 February 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Man sentenced for spitting on former Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn during first wave of pandemic

A man who spat in the face of Islington North MP Jeremy Corbyn and verbally abused Mr Corbyn's wife during the first wave of the pandemic has been sentenced.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Reading Park killer given whole life sentence

The man who carried out the terrorism related murder of three men and the attempted murder of three others in a horrific two-minute rampage last summer will have to spend the rest of his life in prison.

| Press Release , Terrorism, Violent crime , CPS News

Killer convicted of anniversary revenge murder in Southwark park

A killer who stabbed to death the man he believed was responsible for his younger brother’s murder 18 years before has been convicted of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man found guilty of brutal murder of teenager and sentenced to life

16-year-old Louise Smith went missing on 8 May 2020. Her body was found 13 days later in a remote part of Havant Thicket, following an extensive search conducted by Hampshire Constabulary.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Holiday Inn worker murdered for his Gucci bag in Croydon

Samuel Odupitan, 24, followed Tyler Roye off a tram in Woodside, Croydon, before robbing him and fatally stabbing him six times.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man sentenced to life imprisonment for killing friend

A man who fatally stabbed his friend and left his body in the flat for weeks has been sentenced to life imprisonment.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Nottingham knifepoint robber sentenced for rape of sex worker

A Nottingham man has been sentenced for a series of violent robberies that culminated in him raping one of the victims.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Florence Williamson
Email: Florence.Williamson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Sabriyya Rasul
Email: Sabriyya.Rasul@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3519

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3398

Chief Press Officer (National)

Hywel Barrett
Email: Hywel.Barrett@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3457

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Wendy Wyeth
Email: wessex.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673873

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top