CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 153 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

CPS further update in relation to the investigation into PC Harper’s death

Chief Crown Prosecutor Jaswant Narwal, said: “The CPS has discontinued the case against Jed Foster, 20, in relation to the ongoing investigation into PC Harper’s death in Berkshire.

|

University student first to be jailed for manufacturing a firearm with a 3D printer

A South Bank University student is the first person in the UK to be convicted and imprisoned for possessing unlicensed firearms made with a 3D printer.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

CPS update in relation to the investigation into PC Harper’s death

Chief Crown Prosecutor Jaswant Narwal, said: “As the investigation into PC Andrew Harper’s death continues, the CPS has today authorised Thames Valley Police to charge Henry Long, 18, and two 17-year-old boys with murder and conspiracy to steal a quad bike on 15 August 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS News

Man jailed for stabbing Islington mum out with toddler

A man who brazenly stabbed a mother in a daylight attack as she pushed her toddler’s pram has been jailed for four-and-a-half years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Life sentence for Derby knife murder

A young woman from Derby has been given a life sentence for a knife murder in the city. Clara Butler (22) was convicted of murder for stabbing Lance Martin during a late-night brawl in Normanton and was handed a life sentence on Thursday 12 September.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Disqualified driver who ran over police officer with police car pleads guilty

A disqualified driver has pleaded guilty to causing grievous bodily harm to the police officer he ran over with a police car.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Burglar who targeted his godfather is jailed

A teen burglar who stole from his godfather, and subjected him to a sustained and nasty attack leaving him with multiple fractures to his face and internal bleeding on his brain, has been jailed for 10 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Mechanic who shot housewife in planned attack guilty of attempted murder

A mechanic who broke into a Solihull home wearing a mask and shot a mother of two has been given a 33-year prison sentence.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Man pleads guilty to killing toddler Alfie Lamb

A man has pleaded guilty to killing his girlfriend’s three-year-old son after crushing him in the footwell of a car.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

‘County lines’ drug dealer found guilty of stabbing a police officer during arrest

A ‘county lines’ drug dealer was today found guilty of stabbing a police officer during his arrest for supplying drugs on 21 February 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Drug offences , CPS, Wessex News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading