Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 16 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "Wessex"

Father given life imprisonment for murdering wife and daughter

A father of three has been found guilty of murdering his eldest child and estranged wife after he cut the victims' throats in a jealous rage. 

On Friday 18 December, Zdun, 40, was sentenced to life imprisonment and will serve a minimum of 34 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Wessex News

Man found guilty of brutal murder of teenager and sentenced to life

16-year-old Louise Smith went missing on 8 May 2020. Her body was found 13 days later in a remote part of Havant Thicket, following an extensive search conducted by Hampshire Constabulary.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

County lines drug dealer found guilty of murder

A country lines drug dealer who fatally stabbed a man to get hold of his drugs has today been found guilty of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Wessex News

59-year-old man stabbed and beaten by teenagers

Kieran Clarke, 18, has been sentenced today at Winchester Crown Court. Clarke was sentenced to three years' detention in a Young Offender Institution for stabbing a 59-year-old man.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Youth crime , Wessex News

Former Police Officer Sentenced for Manslaughter

Timothy Brehmer, 41, has today (28 October) been sent to prison for 10 years and six months at Salisbury Crown Court for the offence of manslaughter.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Wessex News

72 year old paedophile sent to prison

John Butters, 72, from St Albans Close, Swindon, was imprisoned for 20 months.

| Press Release , Violent crime , Wessex News

CPS uses new technology as offender jailed for three months for attempting to deliberately infect police officers with COVID-19

The Crown Prosecution Service continues to bring criminal charges against people who attempt to deliberately infect emergency workers.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Driver jailed for killing a father over a road rage incident

A driver who killed a dad who was on his way to celebrate Father’s Day, has today been jailed.

On 21 June 2019, Andrzej Szaruta from Somerset was travelling to London to celebrate Father’s Day with his family. As they approached Stonehenge, he noticed a BMW driving erratically.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Driving offences , CPS, Wessex News

UPDATE: Violent husband who kicked his estranged wife to death has been jailed

A man who killed his estranged wife by stamping and kicking her to death has today been jailed.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Spurned ex-boyfriend jailed for the murder of Ellie Gould

A spurned teenager who murdered his 17-year-old girlfriend after she ended their relationship has been sentenced to Life in prison with a minimum term of 12 years and six months.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer (National)

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top