Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast
Main content area

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 11 results for crime type "Sexual offences" & area "South West"

Former Council Leader and Royal Navy Officer jailed for historic sex offences

A former council leader and Royal Navy officer has been jailed for 11 years for historic adult sex offences which took place over an 18-year period.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , South West News

Man convicted of rape over fifteen years ago in Bristol

A man has been convicted of the rape and attempted rape of two women that occurred in the early 2000s.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

Former Exmouth mayor jailed to 21 years’ imprisonment for sexually abusing young boys

John Humphreys, 59, was found guilty by a jury earlier this week and has today been jailed to 21 years’ imprisonment for historic sexual offences against two boys who were aged between 12 and 15.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , South West News

A man who raped a young woman he met at a bar in Bristol jailed for nine years

Fernando Cervi Alvarez, 25, has been sentenced to nine years' imprisonment for two offences of rape committed in 2019. Cervi Alvarez, from St Paul in Bristol, was found guilty by a jury of two counts of rape at Bristol Crown Court on 09 July 2021.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , South West News

Man found guilty of sexual assault in Exeter

A man from Exeter has been found guilty of serious sexual offences, and another of breaching a Sexual Harm Prevention Order, at Exeter Crown Court.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , South West News

Nursery worker jailed for sexually abusing children

Jayden McCarthy was convicted of three counts of rape and 14 counts of sexual assault. His victims included children he was employed to care for at a nursery in Devon and another child not connected to the nursery.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , South West News

Man jailed for 22 and a half years for rape and sexual assault of children

A man has been sentenced to 22 and a half years’ imprisonment today for a series of rapes and sexual assaults on children over a period of approximately 20 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

Mental health worker jailed for 11 years for abuse of girls in his care

A former mental health care worker has been sentenced to 11 years' imprisonment for 21 counts of abuse against three highly vulnerable girls in his care.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

Grime musician jailed for 29 years for multiple rapes

Grime artist Andy Anokye, who performed under the name Solo 45, has been sentenced to 29 years at Bristol Crown Court today for raping, assaulting and imprisoning four women.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

Grime artist Solo 45 convicted of multiple rapes

Grime artist Andy Anokye, who performed under the name ‘Solo 45’, has been found guilty of raping, assaulting and imprisoning four women.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Please note that our Press Office is only able to deal with issues or queries from journalists. Anyone else should visit contact.cps.gov.uk.

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Jamie Carver
Email: Jamie.Carver@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3467

Kate Hinsley
Email: Kate.Hinsley@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0258

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Sabriyya Rasul
Email: Sabriyya.Rasul@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3519

Will Spencer
Email: William.Spencer@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3531

Florence Williamson
Email: Florence.Williamson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3398

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Chief Press Officers

Hywel Barrett
Email: Hywel.Barrett@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3457

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Kerry Bell
Email: kerry.bell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0161 827 4705

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Wendy Wyeth
Email: wessex.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673873

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top