Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast
Main content area

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 16 results for crime type "Sexual offences" & area "Mersey-Cheshire"

Former care home manager jailed for abusing boys

A 76-year-old former care home manager has been sentenced to a total of 11 years imprisonment for sexually abusing two boys in the 1970s.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , Mersey-Cheshire News

Man jailed for imprisoning and sexually assaulting girl on way home from school

A 20-year-old man described as “dangerous” has been jailed for falsely imprisoning and sexually assaulting a 14-year-old girl on her way home from school on Merseyside.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , Mersey-Cheshire News

Former football coach jailed for a further four years for abusing boys

A former youth football coach who is already serving life for abusing young boys in his care has been jailed for a further four years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , Mersey-Cheshire News

CPS statement on Barry Bennell charging decision

Geoff Fryar, Head of the Complex Casework Unit of CPS Mersey Cheshire, said: “The Crown Prosecution Service can confirm that Richard Jones, aka Barry Bennell, today (18/5/2020) appeared at Warrington Magistrates’ Court via video link from HMP Littlehey. At the hearing Jones, 66, was charged with nine sexual offences in relation to two complainants.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Prolific paedophile who filmed the rape and sexual assaults of two young girls jailed

A man who raped and sexually assaulted two young girls and filmed the assaults has today been jailed for 16 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Dangerous sexual predator jailed

A 35-year-old man who targeted and sexually assaulted young women who had become separated from their friends has been jailed.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Man who raped woman on her way home from a night out jailed

A man who raped a young woman as she made her way home from a night out in Liverpool has been jailed for eight years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

UPDATE: Retired teacher sentenced for a series of indecent assaults on 12-year-old pupil

A retired teacher from Merseyside has been convicted of a series of indecent assaults on a pupil from when she was just 12 years old.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Man jailed for 15 years for sexually abusing very young girl

A 31-year- old man from Cheshire who sexually abused a girl on several occasions when she was a very small child has been jailed for 15 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Merseyside primary school teacher convicted of sexually assaulting pupils

A Merseyside primary school teacher has been convicted of abusing his position and inappropriately touching his pupils over a number of years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Florence Williamson
Email: Florence.Williamson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3398

Chief Press Officer (National)

Hywel Barrett
Email: Hywel.Barrett@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3457

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Wendy Wyeth
Email: wessex.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673873

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top