Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 136 results for crime type "Sexual offences" & area "CPS"

Significant programme of work at CPS to narrow the gap between reported rapes and cases which reach court

A major programme of work to narrow the gap between reported rapes and those which reach court is underway at the Crown Prosecution Service as part of an ambitious five-year plan to drive confidence in the justice system.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

CPS says: How we're working to overcome harmful rape myths and stereotypes

As an experienced prosecutor of rape and serious sexual offences, I never underestimate the courage it takes for a victim to report such a deeply violating and distressing event to police.

| CPS says , Sexual offences , CPS News

Nottingham knifepoint robber sentenced for rape of sex worker

A Nottingham man has been sentenced for a series of violent robberies that culminated in him raping one of the victims.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Former Eton College teacher convicted of sex offences

A former Eton College teacher who touched schoolboys inappropriately during late-night visits to their bedrooms has been found guilty of sex offences.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Early discussions with police in London are helping to increase charges for rape cases

Prosecutors in London have been working closely with police in a collective effort to improve prosecution volumes for rape and serious sexual offences.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London North, London South News

Child sex offender jailed for 18 years

A sex offender, who groomed children with gifts and sexually assaulted them, has been jailed for 18 years with a two-year extended licence.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Man found to have committed 10 counts of rape

A man who imprisoned and raped a woman over 32 hours has been found to have committed multiple rapes and false imprisonment.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Dangerous men convicted for killing and dismembering woman

Two men have been convicted today (9 November 2020) for their involvement in the murder and dismemberment of a Dudley woman in 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Man who raped a teenager after Christmas lights switch-on jailed

A man who raped a 15-year-old girl following Dorchester’s Christmas lights switch-on celebrations has today been jailed.

Adrian Cordery has been sentenced at Bournemouth Crown Court to 15 years in prison and a further eight years on license.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Wessex News

Grammar schoolboy sentenced for encouraging far-right terrorism and possessing indecent images of children

An 18-year-old from south London has today been sentenced to two years' detention in a young offender institution, suspended for two years, after he pleaded guilty to 14 counts of terrorism and two of possessing indecent videos featuring young boys.

| Press Release , Terrorism, Sexual offences , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer (National)

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top