CPS News Centre

Nicky Inskip gives a statement to the media outside court

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 19 results for crime type "Driving offences" & area "CPS"

Truck driver who mistook man for roll of carpet jailed over death

A truck driver who drove over a pedestrian he mistook for a roll of carpet in the road has today (April 17) been jailed for causing death by careless driving.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, South East News

Man jailed for causing death by dangerous driving after three teens died

A drink driver who admitted causing death by dangerous driving after mounting the pavement in his car and killing three teenagers walking home from a birthday party has been sentenced to 13 years in prison today.

| News Item , Driving offences , CPS, London North, London South News

Man jailed following fatal hit-and-run

A driver who knocked down and killed two young men while under the influence of drugs was yesterday jailed for 12 years and one month.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, East of England News

Lorry drivers jailed for fatal crash on motorway

Lorry drivers jailed after they caused a motorway crash which killed eight people travelling in a minibus.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Drink driver jailed for killing girl returning from birthday party

A man who drank nine pints of lager and took cocaine before crashing into a group of schoolchildren, killing a 16-year-old girl, has been sentenced to 10 years in prison for causing death by dangerous driving and given a nine year driving ban.

| News Item , Driving offences , CPS, London North, London South News

Lorry drivers convicted after fatal motorway collision which killed eight people

Two lorry drivers have been convicted after they caused a motorway crash which killed eight people travelling in a minibus.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Man convicted of causing death by careless driving after Ferrari crash

The owner of a luxury car storage facility has been convicted of causing death by careless driving after a teenager he took on a drive in a Ferrari was killed.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, Wessex News

Man admits death by dangerous driving after three teens killed following collision

Jaynesh Chudasama, 28, was two and a half times over the legal alcohol limit when he hit George Wilkinson, 16, Joshua McGuiness, 16, and Harry Rice, 17, in Hayes, west London on 26 January this year.

|

Truck driver jailed for fatal collision while using mobile phone

A truck driver who was using his mobile phone at the time his vehicle was involved in a fatal collision has been jailed for three years.

|

Lorry driver admits injuring motorcyclist after motorway footbridge crash

A lorry driver who caused a footbridge to collapse onto a busy motorway after his load struck it, has pleaded guilty to causing serious injury by dangerous driving today (Thu 14 Dec).

|

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Shannyn Quinn
Email: shannyn.quinn@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1296

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Email: ThamesChiltern.ABC@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01727 798700, select option 5

Wessex
Sarah Cartwright
Email: sarah.cartwright@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673806

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading