CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 45 results for crime type "International and organised crime" & area "CPS"

CPS successfully prosecutes second major modern slavery case this month

A father and son have today (29 July) been convicted for their roles in long-running conspiracy to exploit Eastern European workers they trafficked into the UK.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS, South East News

Gang jailed for laundering £1m in cocaine and ketamine cash

Eleven men have been sentenced to a total of more than 65 years between them for their roles laundering £1m in drug money over a six-month period including a sale of 50kg of ketamine.

| Press Release , International and organised crime, Drug offences , CPS News

CPS secures convictions in largest ever modern slavery prosecution

A Polish human-trafficking ring have been jailed after the CPS concluded the UK’s largest ever modern slavery prosecution and what is believed to be the largest prosecution of its type in Europe.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS, West Midlands News

TalkTalk hacker sentenced over bullying and blackmail campaign

A blackmailing hacker behind the TalkTalk cyber-attack – which cost the company £77million after the personal details of 157,000 customers were stolen – has today (10 June) been sentenced.

| Press Release , International and organised crime, Cyber / online crime, Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Deputy head jailed for live-streaming child sex abuse via videoconference

A deputy headteacher who live-streamed children being sexually abused while high on cocaine and crystal meth has today (23 May) been jailed for 28 months.

| Press Release , International and organised crime, Sexual offences , CPS News

Gang convicted of running gun-making factory to sell weapons to criminal underworld

A gang who ran a gun-making factory selling arms to the criminal underworld have been convicted after a CPS prosecution.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS News

Emerging Areas of Child Abuse and Exploitation

Speech by Max Hill QC, Director of Public Prosecutions, to the Heads of Prosecuting Agencies Conference in Uganda, 15-17 April 2019

| Speech , Sexual offences, Youth crime, International and organised crime, Violent crime , CPS News

Hacker behind £500k online blackmail campaign jailed

A prolific cyber criminal who made more than £500,000 by infecting victims’ computers with ‘ransomware’ in an internet blackmail campaign has today (9 April) been jailed for six years and five months.

| Press Release , International and organised crime, Fraud and economic crime, Cyber / online crime , CPS News

CPS takes action to tackle childlike sex dolls

Robust measures to help prosecutors bring charges against importers and sellers of child sex dolls have been unveiled today.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS News

Lorry driver found with 21 illegal migrants hidden in wooden crates jailed for six years

An HGV driver who smuggled 21 Vietnamese nationals – a large number of them children – into the country inside a refrigerated lorry has today (26 March) been sentenced to six years in prison for assisting unlawful entry into the UK.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS, South East News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading