CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 14 results for crime type "Fraud and economic crime" & area "London North"

Gumtree fraudster jailed after conning rental property victims

A fraudster who conned six victims into paying a total of £12,318 for deposits on rental properties in east London which he was not entitled to rent out has been jailed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , London North News

Police officer found guilty of £18,000 crash-for-cash fraud

Hardeep Dehal, a serving Metropolitan Police officer, has today (24 July) been found guilty of planning to fraudulently claim £18,415 in a staged crash-for-cash with a Tesco delivery van.

He was sentenced to 30 months’ immediate custody.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Man who tried to sell fake Lucian Freud painting on eBay sentenced

A man who tried to pass off a fake Lucian Freud painting as a genuine on eBay has been sentenced for fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , London North News

Man who conned Student Loans Company sentenced

A former postgraduate student has been sentenced after a scam which saw him con students into falsely applying for more money than they were entitled to from the Student Loans Company and taking a handsome cut from the proceeds.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , London North News

Two men who paid escort with counterfeit money sentenced

Two men who called an escort to their Heathrow hotel room and paid her with fake £50 Bank of Ireland notes for services have been sentenced.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , London North News

Grenfell council fraudster jailed for stealing £62,000 from survivors

A London council worker who was responsible for administering cash to survivors of the Grenfell fire has been jailed for five-and-a-half years after stealing more than £60,000 to finance her luxury lifestyle.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Man jailed for largest Grenfell fraud yet

A fake Grenfell survivor caught with large amounts of drugs in his hotel after falsely claiming almost £90,000 worth of emergency accommodation, has been jailed for six years and eight months.

It is the largest known convicted Grenfell fraud so far.

|

Man admits £40,000 Grenfell fraud and lying to judge

A man who avoided going to prison for a burglary by falsely telling a judge he had lost all his belongings in the Grenfell fire has admitted perverting the course of justice today (23 August).

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Prolific computer hacker jailed for 10 years

A prolific computer hacker has been jailed for 10 years and eight months for stealing financial data and passwords belonging to tens of thousands of people in order to sell the information on the dark web.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Woman who invented dead husband in Grenfell Tower fraud jailed

A woman who pretended to be the widow of a Grenfell Tower victim so she could claim money and accommodation has been jailed for fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading