CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 100 results for crime type "Fraud and economic crime" & area "CPS"

Pharmacist jailed for stashing £1.2million worth of Class C controlled drugs to sell illegally

A pharmacist, who was found with £1.2million worth of Class C controlled drugs to sell without prescriptions, has today been jailed.
 

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Group sentenced for making £870k-worth of false childcare claims

A group of mothers and two men who conspired to make £870,000 in false childcare claims, have been sentenced for their part in the scam.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Animal trader convicted of illegal trading in nearly extinct baby eels

An animal trader was convicted today (7 February) at Southwark Crown Court of illegally smuggling critically endangered baby European eels.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Five directors jailed for hiding payments to avoid paying £2.6 million in tax

Five directors of a printing and mailing business who attempted to conceal sales of more than £3 million in a bid to avoid paying tax have been jailed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Car trader and associates found guilty of laundering stolen £1.25 million

Three people who conspired to launder £1.25 million stolen from a business linked to a property entrepreneur have been convicted for their part in the plot.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Woman jailed for conning her friend into giving up her job for a dream post that never existed

A woman has been jailed for conning her friend into giving up her job to take up a dream post that never existed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Two property developers jailed for failing to pay almost £1million tax

Two property developers who failed to pay the tax due on the profits they’d made from successful house sales, have been jailed.

Madhu Bhajanehatti, 45, and Himat Chana, 60, were property developers, buying and selling houses across London between 2002 and 2009.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Couple who lived as man and wife with their three children jailed for housing benefit fraud

A man and woman who lived together and had three children together but claimed they weren’t a couple have been jailed for £108,754 of benefit fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Former lawyer sentenced for benefit fraud

A former lawyer who said he could not walk without help, but was spotted driving a miniature locomotive, has been sentenced for benefit fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Fraud case brought over false air quality data

A council employee has been given a suspended prison sentence for committing fraud, after falsifying air quality data.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, South East News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading