CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 15 results for area "East of England"

Violent man sentenced for brutal murder at family home

A man who killed his wife, attempted to murder a child and assaulted a police officer has been sentenced today at Cambridge Crown Court.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, East of England News

CPS statement in relation to the death of Rikki Neave

CPS statement in relation to the death of Rikki Neave

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East of England News

Woman who assaulted cabin crew and threatened to “kill” fellow passengers on plane sentenced

A disruptive passenger who caused an aircraft full of holidaymakers to be diverted after she tried to force open the plane doors mid-flight has today been sentenced to two years' imprisonment.

| Press Release , CPS, East of England News

Four people jailed for the death of Courtney Valentine-Brown

Today four people have been jailed for the death of Courtney Valentine-Brown following a dispute over a debt.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East of England News

Essex couple jailed for child abuse

A couple from Essex who sexually abused four children and recorded footage of their horrific crimes have today been sentenced at Chelmsford Crown Court.

Mark Gable received a total sentence of 11 years and 6 months and Jessica Fry received a total sentence of 10 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, East of England News

Drug gang sentenced to 66 years for attempted murder

Donald Adu, Calvin Armstrong and Ermias Yohannes have today been sentenced to a total of 66 years between them at Ipswich Crown Court for the attempted murder of a man from Colchester.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East of England News

Prolific crime group sentenced to total of 55 years' imprisonment

Eight members of an organised crime group who terrorised local communities with their prolific offending have today been sentenced to 55 years between them.

| Press Release , CPS, East of England News

Paedophile sentenced to 29 years for systematic sexual abuse and rape of a child

A paedophile has been sentenced for 29 years for raping and sexually abusing a child for over seven years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, East of England News

Group convicted over Stansted Airport break-in

Fifteen people who broke into Stansted Airport and chained themselves around a plane have been convicted of an aviation security offence today.

The defendants used an access road to get to the airside perimeter fence at the airport, making a hole with bolt cutters on 28 March 2017.

| Press Release , CPS, East of England News

Man jailed for taking eggs from the nests of wild birds

A man who took thousands of eggs from the nests of wild birds to create a personal collection at his home has been jailed today (27 November).

| Press Release , CPS, East of England News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading