CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 18 results for area "East of England"

Group convicted over Stansted Airport break-in

Fifteen people who broke into Stansted Airport and chained themselves around a plane have been convicted of an aviation security offence today.

The defendants used an access road to get to the airside perimeter fence at the airport, making a hole with bolt cutters on 28 March 2017.

| Press Release , CPS, East of England News

Man jailed for taking eggs from the nests of wild birds

A man who took thousands of eggs from the nests of wild birds to create a personal collection at his home has been jailed today (27 November).

| Press Release , CPS, East of England News

‘Early Bird Rapist’ sentenced

Today (Monday 3 September) Christopher Clark has been sentenced to 13 years’ imprisonment at Basildon Crown Court for the rape of a young woman in 1985. The CPS was able to secure the conviction thanks to advances in DNA technology.
 

|

Four men convicted for Ipswich murder

Tecwyn Parker, Daniel Kaganda, Jason Ruby and Amiadul Islam were today (24 July) convicted of murder at Ipswich Crown Court.

|

Man guilty of murder following violent pub attack

A man has been found guilty of killing a stranger and trying to kill another following a violent altercation at a pub during a Halloween party.

|

Man jailed for murdering his wife

A man has been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of 14 years for murdering his wife.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, East of England News

CPS decision following reinvestigation into death of Rikki Neave

The Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) has decided there is insufficient evidence to charge a man in relation to the death of six-year-old Rikki Neave.

Rikki Neave’s body was found in woodland area on the Welland Estate, Peterborough, on 29 November 1994.

|

Fairground workers convicted following child death

Two fairground workers have today (9 May) been convicted of gross negligence manslaughter after a seven-year-old girl died when the bouncy castle she was playing on blew away in high winds.

| Press Release , CPS, East of England News

Brothers jailed for £16.7million fraud in father’s financial advisory business

Two brothers who invested up to £16.7million on behalf of more than 200 elderly and vulnerable clients, resulting in losses of more than £5million, have been jailed today.
 

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, East of England News

Man jailed following fatal hit-and-run

A driver who knocked down and killed two young men while under the influence of drugs was yesterday jailed for 12 years and one month.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, East of England News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading