CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 78 results for area "London South"

Fraudsters who claimed to live in flat of deceased Grenfell Tower resident convicted

A couple who claimed to be living in the flat of a deceased Grenfell Tower resident at the time of the fire have been convicted of fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London South News

Everton football fan convicted of hate crime

A football supporter who shouted racial abuse at a player during a game between Crystal Palace and Everton in August 2019 has been convicted of a hate crime.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, London South News

Woman who used Grindr to meet men jailed for stalking

A woman who posed as a man on a gay dating app has been jailed for 13 months after stalking and harassing her victims.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

Man convicted over Notting Hill Carnival lip attack

A man who said he was the devil before biting the lip off a fellow carnival-goer has admitted causing grievous bodily harm with intent.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Man guilty of violent south London park sexual assault

Khaled Argoub, 20, stalked his victim before dragging her to a park where he choked and sexually assaulted her.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

Man who pushed teen from balcony at Southwark party convicted

A scorned man who pushed a girl off a balcony after she rejected his advances has been found guilty of causing grievous bodily harm with intent.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Senior lecturer who sent 300 emails in under a month to former student found guilty of harassment

A senior lecturer who sent 300 emails in under a month to a former student has been found guilty of harassment.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

Police officer jailed for lying about Uxbridge child sex assault

PC Hitesh Lakhani, 42, falsely accused a council street cleaner of sexually assaulting a child after an argument about cleaning up his garden hedges.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

Homeless man who kidnapped and sexually assaulted eight-year-old boy jailed

A homeless man who kidnapped and sexually assaulted an eight-year-old boy has been jailed for 11 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

Teenager admits Tate Modern killing attempt

A teenager has admitted throwing a young boy off a balcony at the Tate Modern with the intention of killing him so he could be on the news.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading