CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 87 results for area "London South"

Postgraduate students found guilty of central London nightclub rape

Ferdinando Orlando, 25, and Lorenzo Costanzo, 26, led the woman into a side room at the Toy Room Club near Oxford Street in the early hours of 26 February 2017.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

Prison officer jailed for inappropriate relationship with prisoner

Prison officer Rachel Barnes, 29, became involved in the inappropriate relationship with Sebastian Vassell, 28, while working at HMP Belmarsh.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

Bulgarian scammer jailed for £41.6m fraud

A Bulgarian phishing expert who created website scripts designed to look just like the real websites of legitimate companies to help criminals defraud victims out of an estimated £41.6 million has been jailed for nine years.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London South News

Travelex employee who stole £70,000 from Fleet Street branch sentenced

An employee who stole more than £70,000 from a Travelex currency exchange bureau has been sentenced for fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London South News

University student first to be jailed for manufacturing a firearm with a 3D printer

A South Bank University student is the first person in the UK to be convicted and imprisoned for possessing unlicensed firearms made with a 3D printer.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Man jailed for pretending to flat-share with deceased Grenfell resident in £75,000 fraud

A pharmacist technician who posed as a Grenfell Tower resident and carried out a fraud worth more than £75,000 has been jailed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London South News

Trainee solicitor admits stranger rape near Borough High Street

A trainee solicitor has admitted raping a stranger and kidnapping another in order to commit a sexual act near Borough High Street.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

Man jailed for New Year’s assault on woman in Clapham

A man who launched an attack on a woman outside a nightclub in Clapham on New Year's Eve has been sentenced to 32 months in prison.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Brexit supporter jailed for harassment

A Brexit supporter has been sentenced to 18 weeks in prison for harassing staff working for MPs he thought were trying to delay or stop the UK’s exit from the European Union.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

G4S driver who stole nearly £1m jailed

A G4S van driver who stole nearly £1m from his employer has been jailed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , London South News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading