Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 57 results for area "London South"

Defence criminal consultant jailed for speaking to prisoner on smuggled prison mobile phones

Law graduate Dene McClean, 37, communicated with prisoner Jonathan Gomez on seven illegal mobile phones on at least 544 instances while he was on remand awaiting trial for firearms offences at HMP Wormwood Scrubs. McClean was part of his defence team at the time.

| Press Release , London South News

CPS London hosts first Independent Sexual Violence Advisors Day

The event brought together professionals in the field across the capital to discuss collaboration and ways to improve the service provided to victims.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North, London South News

Man who threatened to burn down Kensington Town Hall convicted

A disgruntled homeless man who threatened to burn down Kensington Town Hall before covering himself and the floor in petrol has been convicted of attempting to commit arson and threatening to kill staff.

| Press Release , London South News

Early discussions with police in London are helping to increase charges for rape cases

Prosecutors in London have been working closely with police in a collective effort to improve prosecution volumes for rape and serious sexual offences.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London North, London South News

Three admit using drones to smuggle items into Wandsworth prison

Three men have admitted trying to smuggle psychoactive substances and mobile phones into a London prison using drones.

| Press Release , CPS, London South News

London South CCP Lionel Idan writes for the Evening Standard

The Crown Prosecution Service's first black male Chief Crown Prosecutor writes about growing up in Ghana and hate crime for London's Evening Standard.

| News Item , Hate crime , London South News

Man pleads guilty to Regent's Park mosque stabbing in prayer hall

Daniel Horton, 30, stabbed his 70-year-old victim during prayers at the London Central Mosque, Regent’s Park, on 20 February 2020.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Romanian gang jailed for burglary spree including 200-plus stolen ancient books

Twelve Romanian men who ran a conspiracy worth between £3 and £4 million to burgle items ranging from iPhones to seventeenth century books by Galileo have been sentenced to a total of more than 48 years in prison, with sentences ranging from 3 years and 7 months to 5 years and 8 months.

|

UPDATED WITH SENTENCE: Man guilty of violent south London park sexual assault

A violent man, who made up a twin to use as a scapegoat for the sexual attack he had committed, has been sentenced to 14 years' imprisonment, with a recommendation that he serve at least two-thirds, and an extended licence period of eight years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London South News

Teen who punched man and said 'I don't want your corona virus in my country' pleads guilty

A teenager has admitted punching a man and saying ‘I don’t want your corona virus in my country’.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, London South News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer (National)

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top