CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 32 results for area "Wessex"

CPS uses new technology as offender jailed for three months for attempting to deliberately infect police officers with COVID-19

The Crown Prosecution Service continues to bring criminal charges against people who attempt to deliberately infect emergency workers.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Man jailed for 8 years after infecting women with HIV

A man who infected three women with HIV through unprotected sex - despite knowing he had the disease - has been jailed.

| Press Release , CPS, Wessex News

Fishery owner jailed for shooting a protected otter

A fishery owner who killed a protected otter to stop it from eating his fish has been jailed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, Wessex News

Thief guilty of bungled attempt to steal Magna Carta

A man whose attempt to steal a Magna Carta failed when he could not break through the security glass protecting it has today been convicted.

| Press Release , CPS, Wessex News

Driver jailed for killing a father over a road rage incident

A driver who killed a dad who was on his way to celebrate Father’s Day, has today been jailed.

On 21 June 2019, Andrzej Szaruta from Somerset was travelling to London to celebrate Father’s Day with his family. As they approached Stonehenge, he noticed a BMW driving erratically.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Driving offences , CPS, Wessex News

UPDATE: Violent husband who kicked his estranged wife to death has been jailed

A man who killed his estranged wife by stamping and kicking her to death has today been jailed.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Spurned ex-boyfriend jailed for the murder of Ellie Gould

A spurned teenager who murdered his 17-year-old girlfriend after she ended their relationship has been sentenced to Life in prison with a minimum term of 12 years and six months.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Man sentenced for destroying bat nest

Iain Turner, 50, from Dorset, was fined to a total over £7,142 for destroying a bat roost on Friday 11 October at Bournemouth Crown Court.

| Press Release , CPS, Wessex News

CPS statement following the sentencing of Sherry Bray and Christopher Ashford

CPS statement following the sentencing of Sherry Bray, 48, and Christopher Ashford, 62, for accessing footage of footballer Emiliano Sala’s body in the mortuary:

| Press Release , Cyber / online crime , CPS, Wessex News

‘County lines’ drug dealer found guilty of stabbing a police officer during arrest

A ‘county lines’ drug dealer was today found guilty of stabbing a police officer during his arrest for supplying drugs on 21 February 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Drug offences , CPS, Wessex News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading