CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 51 results for crime type "Terrorism" & area "CPS"

New Year’s Eve Manchester station knife attacker given life sentence

A man who stabbed a couple and a police officer in an unprovoked attack at Manchester Victoria Station on New Year’s Eve has today been given a life sentence after he pleaded guilty to three counts of attempted murder.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Teenage neo-Nazi jailed over 'how to make guns' guides

An 18-year-old racist has been jailed today for having a number of terrorism manuals including one that gave step-by-step instructions on how to make a working automatic pistol.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Security guard with DIY terrorism guides jailed

A security guard who downloaded manuals on how to make bombs using lightbulbs and tennis balls has been jailed for two years and two months today.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Teenager jailed for 19 years after researching mass shooting

A 19-year old who bought a Glock handgun gun with the intention of carrying out a mass shooting has been sentenced to 19 years' imprisonment at Taunton Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS, South West News

Anti-Muslim supporter of New Zealand mosque killer jailed for attempted murder

A delivery driver who praised the Christchurch mosque shooter has been jailed for more than 18 years for attempting to murder a bystander near Heathrow Airport a day after the massacre.

|

Anti-Muslim extremist who praised US killer sentenced

A man who wrote letters offering to donate £100 to charity for every member of a racial or religious minority that was murdered has been given a 12.5 year sentence today (3 September).

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Hashem Abedi, brother of the Manchester Arena bomber, charged with 22 counts of murder

Hashem Abedi, the brother of the Manchester Arena bomber, arrived back in the UK on 17 July following a request made by the CPS Counter Terrorism Division to the Libyan authorities.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Parliament attacker guilty of attempted murder

A man who deliberately drove his car into cyclists and police officers outside Parliament has been convicted of attempted murder today (17 July).

|

Synagogue arsonist sectioned under Mental Health Act

A 52-year-old man who wrote songs calling for violence against Jewish people has been ordered to be detained in a hospital for treatment after pleading guilty to torching Exeter synagogue whilst suffering a psychotic episode.

| Press Release , Terrorism, Hate crime , CPS News

Hunting knife jihad plotter jailed

A teenager who planned to carry out a terrorist outrage in London using a hunting knife, or else use the knife to steal a Rolex to fund his travel to Syria has been sentenced to five years in prison today (28 June).

|

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading