Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 34 results for crime type "Terrorism" & area "CPS"

Brother of Manchester bomber jailed for 55 years

Hashem Abedi, the younger brother of suicide bomber Salman Abedi, will spend at least 55 years in prison for the murder of 22 people at an Ariana Grande concert.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Terrorist given life for Pride attack plot

A restaurant worker who plotted a terror attack at the Pride parade in London has been jailed for life and told he must serve at least 25 years in prison.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

St Paul’s Cathedral bomb plotter given life

A woman who scoped out St. Paul’s Cathedral in preparation for a suicide bomb attack has been given a life sentence today and must serve at least 14 years before she can be considered for release.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Daesh fanatic jailed for masterminding 8,000 matches terror attack

A man who kept a Daesh flag at his Newcastle home has been jailed for life for helping two men plan a murderous rampage in Germany.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

UPDATED: Racist couple and two others jailed for banned hate group membership

Five people have been jailed for membership of a proscribed organisation, contrary to section 11 of the Terrorism Act 2000. One pleaded guilty in January 2019 and the others were convicted in March.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Brother of Manchester Arena bomber guilty of murder

Hashem Abedi, the younger brother of suicide bomber Salman Abedi, has been found guilty of murdering 22 people at an Ariana Grande concert at Manchester Arena in 2017.

| Press Release , Terrorism, Violent crime , CPS News

Terror offences - charges left to lie on file

A story in the Telegraph - 'Prosecutors allow dozens of charges brought against terrorists to 'lie on file' - has incorrectly claimed the CPS is allowing charges to lie on file for defendants accused of terror offences as part of “sweetheart deals”.

| CPS says , Terrorism , CPS News

British wife of Syrian fighter guilty of funding terrorism

A young woman who was a supporter of violent jihad and sharia law has been found guilty today (12 December) of sending money to help fighters in Syria.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

New Year’s Eve Manchester station knife attacker given life sentence

A man who stabbed a couple and a police officer in an unprovoked attack at Manchester Victoria Station on New Year’s Eve has today been given a life sentence after he pleaded guilty to three counts of attempted murder.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Security guard with DIY terrorism guides jailed

A security guard who downloaded manuals on how to make bombs using lightbulbs and tennis balls has been jailed for two years and two months today.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07720 207118 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top