CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 27 results for crime type "Domestic abuse" & area "CPS"

Soldier murdered Britain’s Got Talent singer

A former army fusilier has been found guilty of murdering his girlfriend in a frenzied knife attack at his Battersea home.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, London North News

Couple found guilty of causing toddler’s death

A couple have been convicted of causing the death of a toddler after they lied to cover up the true cause of his injuries.

| Press Release , Domestic abuse, Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Trio who tried to make pregnant teen miscarry plead guilty to crimes

Three people who beat a pregnant teenager and forced blue laundry detergent down her mouth in order to trigger a miscarriage have pleaded guilty to their crimes.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, London North News

Controlling boyfriend jailed for murdering his girlfriend after funeral row

A controlling boyfriend who stabbed his girlfriend at least 21 times - of which 15 were capable of being fatal - after a row about her going to her grandmother’s funeral has been jailed for life.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Woman sentenced for injuring her own baby

A woman has been sentenced to fifteen months’ imprisonment at Cardiff Crown Court for inflicting grievous bodily harm on her six-month-old son.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

UPDATE: Woman convicted of the gross negligence manslaughter of her mother

A woman who left her 91-year-old mother lying in filth for days has been found guilty of gross negligence manslaughter.

| Press Release , Domestic abuse , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Abusive husband jailed for stabbing wife 33 times

A man who stabbed his wife 33 times has today (4 April) been sentenced to life imprisonment at Stafford Crown Court for her murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, West Midlands News

Man sentenced for controlling and coercive behaviour against mother

A man who forced his elderly mother to fund his drug habit has been sentenced for controlling and coercive behaviour.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, London North News

Abusive wife convicted of murdering husband

An abusive wife who subjected her husband to long-term physical abuse has been convicted of his murder today (20 March 2019).

| Press Release , Domestic abuse , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Man sentenced to life in prison for murdering his partner

A man who killed his girlfriend in a violent attack in their home in Theale last year has been convicted of her murder and given a life sentence.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading