CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 43 results for area "South West"

Teenager jailed for 19 years after researching mass shooting

A 19-year old who bought a Glock handgun gun with the intention of carrying out a mass shooting has been sentenced to 19 years' imprisonment at Taunton Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Terrorism , CPS, South West News

Fraudster who pretended to be living life of espionage convicted for conning partner

A fraudster who used outlandish stories to manipulate his partner into handing over large amounts of money has today been convicted of fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, South West News

Teenager convicted for researching mass shootings before trying to buy handgun

A teenager who researched mass shootings before trying to buy a handgun is facing prison after being convicted of firearms offences.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

Jack Shepherd sentenced to four more years for wounding with intent

A man has admitted hitting a member of bar staff over the head with a bottle of vodka after being refused alcohol and has been sentenced to four more years in custody.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South West News

Two people convicted of modern slavery offences in Bristol

Two people have been convicted of modern slavery offences at Bristol Crown Court. Ion Boboc and Christiana Tudor-Dobre were convicted by a jury of Requiring a person to perform forced or compulsory labour, contrary to section 1(1)b of the Modern Slavery Act 2015.

|

Somerset man jailed for stalking offence against BBC TV presenter

A Somerset man has been jailed for two years and six months at Bristol Crown Court for a stalking offence against a BBC TV presenter.

| Press Release , South West News

Seven jailed for 44 years for heroin, cocaine and cannabis conspiracies

Seven men have been jailed for a total of 44 years at Bristol Crown Court for their roles in conspiracies to bring hundreds of thousands of pounds worth of heroin, cocaine and cannabis into Bristol.

| Press Release , Drug offences , South West News

Two men jailed for Truro armed robbery

Two men have been jailed at Truro Crown Court for the armed robbery of a jewellery shop in which almost £1m of goods were stolen. Five other men have admitted their involvement and will be sentenced tomorrow.

| Press Release , Violent crime, International and organised crime , South West News

Man jailed for blackmailing victims he met online

A man who pretended to be women on online dating sites, and later claimed to be an underage girl to blackmail his victims out of thousands of pounds, has been jailed for eight years.

| Press Release , Cyber / online crime , CPS, South West News

Former naval officer jailed for sexual assault

A former Royal Navy officer has been sentenced to seven years and six months imprisonment for a series of indecent assaults committed in the 1980s and 1990s.

|

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading