CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 112 results for area "Thames and Chiltern"

CPS statement in relation to the investigation into PC Harper’s death

Chief Crown Prosecutor Jaswant Narwal, said: “Following the death of PC Harper in Berkshire, the Crown Prosecution Service has today authorised Thames Valley Police to charge Jed Foster, 20, with murder and the theft of a quad bike.

| News Item , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

A churchwarden who manipulated his elderly neighbours found guilty of murder

A church warden who manipulated two elderly neighbours in order to benefit from their wills, has today been convicted of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Former Colombian police officer who burnt and buried his wife’s body convicted of murder

A former Colombian police officer who killed his wife, burnt her body and buried her in a shallow grave has been sentenced to life imprisonment for murder and will serve a minimum of 19 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Youth gang members receive life sentences after vicious attack on rival

Four young men, three of them teenagers, received life sentences today (21 May 2109) after a Snapchat video and a conversation between offenders in the back of a police van helped secure their conviction for the murder of a 16-year-old boy.

| Press Release , Youth crime, Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Man jailed for sending threatening and racially aggravated emails to seven MPs

A man has been sentenced to 10 months in prison for sending threatening and racially aggravated emails to seven MPs.

| Press Release , Cyber / online crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Former teacher jailed for indecently assaulting schoolboys more than 30 years ago

A former Hertfordshire teacher has been given a four-year prison sentence after being found guilty of indecently assaulting five schoolboys during the 1970s and 1980s.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Bedford gang members sentenced to 79 years in prison

Members of two rival gangs have been given prison sentences totalling 79 years following a series of violent incidents in Bedford in 2017.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Abusive wife convicted of murdering husband

An abusive wife who subjected her husband to long-term physical abuse has been convicted of his murder today (20 March 2019).

| Press Release , Domestic abuse , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Driver jailed for knocking over and injuring Tesco employee

A driver who knocked over and seriously injured a woman during an incident in a Tesco car park in Rickmansworth has been jailed today (18 March 2019) for 38 months.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Man sentenced to life in prison for murdering his partner

A man who killed his girlfriend in a violent attack in their home in Theale last year has been convicted of her murder and given a life sentence.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading