Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 219 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

Holiday Inn worker murdered for his Gucci bag in Croydon

Samuel Odupitan, 24, followed Tyler Roye off a tram in Woodside, Croydon, before robbing him and fatally stabbing him six times.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man sentenced to life imprisonment for killing friend

A man who fatally stabbed his friend and left his body in the flat for weeks has been sentenced to life imprisonment.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Nottingham knifepoint robber sentenced for rape of sex worker

A Nottingham man has been sentenced for a series of violent robberies that culminated in him raping one of the victims.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

North Yorkshire man sentenced to life for murdering his former girlfriend

A Catterick man has today been sentenced to life and ordered to serve a minimum of 25 years for kidnapping and murdering his ex-girlfriend.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

UPDATED WITH SENTENCES: Two convicted of the murder of Jaydon James

Frank Ymele Kenfack, 18, and Abdirazac Hussein Abdi, 21, have been convicted of and jailed for the murder of 16-year-old Jaydon James, who was fatally stabbed on 24 November 2018 while out with friends in the Wood End area of Coventry. A third defendant, Bonani Ngozi, was acquitted of all charges.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Dangerous men convicted for killing and dismembering woman

Two men have been convicted today (9 November 2020) for their involvement in the murder and dismemberment of a Dudley woman in 2019.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Man jailed for life for cold-blooded hammer killing in Plymouth

A man has been jailed for life for the murder of Adrian Cieslik in Plymouth.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South West News

Burglar guilty of murdering 88-year-old in his home

A burglar has been found guilty of murdering an 88-year-old man in his home at the height of lockdown.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

York man jailed for life for 2007 murder

David Roustoby (45) has today been sentenced to life at Leeds Crown Court and ordered to serve a minimum of 19 years for the murder of David Clarke thirteen years ago.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Husband convicted of murdering friend

A father-of-three who murdered a man over his relationship with his wife has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Swansea Crown Court. He must serve a minimum of thirty years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer (National)

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top