CPS News Centre

Female reporter - photo

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 60 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

Pair given whole life sentences for murder of woman

Two men who attacked a woman and left her in a car before setting it alight have been jailed for life after being convicted of her murder.

|

Man jailed for acid attack on two people as they sat in their car

A man who threw acid on two people, causing them third degree burns and life-changing injuries has been jailed for 16 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man jailed for setting his neighbour alight

A man who doused his neighbour with petrol and set her alight has been jailed for 19 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Man guilty of murdering wife and children

A man who suffocated his wife and drowned his two children has been convicted of their murders today (19 April).

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Man convicted of acid attack manslaughter

A man who threw acid during a fight has admitted manslaughter after an innocent bystander died when she was hit with the liquid.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Manchester police inspector gets life for wife’s murder

A police inspector convicted of murdering his wife who was a detective constable on the same force has today been given a life sentence with a minimum of 19 years in prison.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Man sentenced for murdering ex-partner

A man who stabbed his ex-partner while she walked home has been sentenced for her murder at Mold Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Life sentence for Leicester hate crime driver who ran over Muslim woman

A man who drove onto the pavement to run over a Muslim woman in Leicester has been jailed for life for attempted murder today (27 March).

| Press Release , Violent crime, Hate crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Pair guilty of Sunderland murder

Two men who attacked a woman and left her in a car before setting it alight have been convicted of her murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS, North East News

Manchester police inspector guilty of wife’s murder

A police inspector has today been convicted of the murder of his wife who was a detective constable on the same force.

| News Item , Violent crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Follow our blog: blog.cps.gov.uk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Shannyn Quinn
Email: shannyn.quinn@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1296

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Email: southwest.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2921

Thames and Chiltern
Louise Rosher
Email: louise.rosher@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0118 951 3640

Wessex
Marie Meunier
Email: Marie.Meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading