CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 160 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

Gang member jailed for 15 years for 'ride-out' and running drugs line from prison

A member of one of Waltham Forest’s organised crime groups who took part in ‘ride-out’ against a rival gang before going on to run a drugs line from inside prison, has been jailed for 15 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Drug offences , CPS, London North News

Son who fatally stabbed his parents over dog dispute sentenced

A son who confessed to killing both of his parents in a row about his dog has been sentenced to life imprisonment.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man who bludgeoned his wife to death convicted of murder

A man who bludgeoned his wife to death in the stables they owned in Cheshire has been found guilty of her murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Shopworker who stabbed woman after she rejected him guilty of attempted murder

A shopworker who repeatedly stabbed a woman because she rejected his advances has been found guilty of attempted murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Drug addict guilty of murdering Pinner shopkeeper

A drug addict has been convicted of robbing and murdering a newsagent in Pinner as he sorted the weekend newspapers early in the morning.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man jailed for manslaughter of victim 17 years after assault

A 47-year-old-man has been jailed for the manslaughter of a man he assaulted in August 2000, who sadly died 17 years later.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Prolific liar convicted of strangling ex-girlfriend to death in Kew home

An Estonian stunt man who claimed he could kill without a trace has been found guilty of murdering his ex-girlfriend and burying her body in her own garden.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Family convicted over death of teenager Jay Sewell in south-east London

The violence broke out on 11 December last year as a result of Daniel Grogan and his ex-girlfriend Gemma Hodder’s relationship ending.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Vigilante landlord and barmaid sentenced

A licensee and barmaid who assaulted a suspected thief have been sentenced at Cardiff Crown Court.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Kidnappers jailed after holding man hostage

Two men who handcuffed another to a radiator for over 24 hours have been jailed for fifteen and five years respectively at Cardiff Crown Court.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading