CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 185 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

CPS statement on Joseph McCann sentencing

Joseph McCann was sentenced today to life imprisonment with a minimum of 30 years to serve before he can be considered for release.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Teenager admits Tate Modern killing attempt

A teenager has admitted throwing a young boy off a balcony at the Tate Modern with the intention of killing him so he could be on the news.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Joseph McCann guilty of 37 counts including rape, kidnapping and sexual assault

A serial rapist has been found guilty of a string of offences, including 19 sexual offences, against a total of 11 victims across the country.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Half-brothers guilty of killing man in Liverpool city centre

Two half-brothers have been found guilty of killing father-of-two George Bala Lloyd-Evans on 2 June 2019 as crowds celebrated Liverpool FC becoming Champions of Europe.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Drug gang sentenced to 66 years for attempted murder

Donald Adu, Calvin Armstrong and Ermias Yohannes have today been sentenced to a total of 66 years between them at Ipswich Crown Court for the attempted murder of a man from Colchester.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East of England News

Organised crime gang who terrorised motorists across West Midlands found guilty

An organised crime gang who carried out nearly 30 violent robberies using firearms to steal motor vehicles across West Midlands have been found guilty today (Thursday 28 November).

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Man sentenced to life imprisonment for murder of 23-month-old toddler

A man who smothered his partner’s crying toddler daughter to death in a fit of temper was convicted of murder yesterday. Today he has been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of 20 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Fiancé who murdered his wife-to-be has been jailed for life

A fiancé who murdered his wife-to-be in a fit of jealous rage has been jailed for life.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

CPS statement on sentencing in Sandris Abimeicevs murder trial

Olegas Borisovski, Saulius Lemezonas and Vytautus Medeckis were sentenced today (Friday 22 November) for the murder of Sandris Abimeicevs, a homeless man who was beaten to death, wrapped in a sleeping bag and left on the street.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Man who killed pregnant ex-wife with crossbow convicted of her murder

Unmathallegadoo compilation

A man who killed his heavily pregnant ex-wife with a crossbow has been convicted of her murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading