CPS News Centre

Nicky Inskip gives a statement to the media outside court

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 103 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

Man jailed for attempting to murder his GP with a crossbow

A man who tried to kill his GP with a crossbow has been sentenced to 20 years in prison for attempted murder today (15 February 2019).

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Derby street robber guilty of manslaughter of 100-year-old woman

A Derby man has been convicted of robbery and manslaughter for an attack on a 100-year-old woman. Artur Waszkiewicz attacked Zofija Kaczan as she walked to her local church on the morning of Monday 28 May 2018.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Gang convicted of violent attack which saw corrosive substance squirted at bystanders

Nine men have been convicted of carrying out a violent attack which saw a corrosive substance squirted at bystanders trying to stop a street assault.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Gangsters found guilty of murder following rival feud

A 38-year-old man has today (16 January) been convicted of the murders of Paul Massey and John Kinsella who were shot dead in separate incidents almost three years apart in a gangland feud.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, North West News

Man who drove into nightclub guilty of attempted murder

A man who deliberately drove his car into customers at a nightclub, injuring eight people, has been convicted of attempted murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Fighting for justice: Go behind the scenes at the CPS

How the CPS and the police brought a killer to justice in a landmark case is the subject of a compelling documentary broadcast yesterday and now available on the BBC iPlayer.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS News

Three men guilty of murdering five people following shop explosion

Three men who caused an explosion in a shop which killed five people have today (28 December) been convicted of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Man guilty of murdering ex-partner and her mother

A man has today (17 December) pleaded guilty to killing his former partner and her mother.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Men convicted of violent attack on police officers

Two men have admitted violently assaulting police officers in an attack which saw a female officer kicked toward the path of traffic.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

Teenager guilty of rape and murder of 14-year-old girl

A 16-year-old boy has today (14 December) been found guilty of the rape and murder of a teenage girl.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Shannyn Quinn
Email: shannyn.quinn@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1296

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Sarah Cartwright
Email: Sarah.Cartwright@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673806

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0087

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/ Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading