CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 142 results for crime type "Violent crime" & area "CPS"

CPS statement in relation to the investigation into PC Harper’s death

Chief Crown Prosecutor Jaswant Narwal, said: “Following the death of PC Harper in Berkshire, the Crown Prosecution Service has today authorised Thames Valley Police to charge Jed Foster, 20, with murder and the theft of a quad bike.

| News Item , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Man jailed for New Year’s assault on woman in Clapham

A man who launched an attack on a woman outside a nightclub in Clapham on New Year's Eve has been sentenced to 32 months in prison.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London South News

A churchwarden who manipulated his elderly neighbours found guilty of murder

A church warden who manipulated two elderly neighbours in order to benefit from their wills, has today been convicted of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Robber jailed for over 20 years for attack that killed elderly woman

A violent burglar who terrorised an 84-year-old woman in her home has been jailed for more than 20 years for manslaughter.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Fugitive sentenced for murdering three generations of family in arson attack

An arsonist who petrol-bombed a home killing three generations of one family has been found guilty of the murder of eight people. He has today been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of 23 years.
 

|

Devoted churchgoer jailed for murdering a student midwife

A churchgoer who killed a trainee midwife has today (Monday 5 August) been jailed for murder despite the fact that her body has still not been found.

Joy Morgan, 20, disappeared in between Christmas and New Year in 2018 after attending a Boxing Day meal at her church in Ilford.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS News

Mother guilty of murdering her two young daughters

A young mother whose daughters died just weeks apart has today (1 August) been jailed for a minimum of 32 years for their murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Former Colombian police officer who burnt and buried his wife’s body convicted of murder

A former Colombian police officer who killed his wife, burnt her body and buried her in a shallow grave has been sentenced to life imprisonment for murder and will serve a minimum of 19 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Teenager convicted for researching mass shootings before trying to buy handgun

A teenager who researched mass shootings before trying to buy a handgun is facing prison after being convicted of firearms offences.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

Stephen Nicholson jailed for murdering 13-year-old Lucy McHugh

A paedophile who groomed a 13-year-old girl after moving into her family home then killed her to keep her silent has today been jailed for murder.

Stephen Nicholson began abusing Lucy McHugh from the age of 12 her after moving in with her family in Southampton.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading