CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 32 results for area "North East"

Nigel Farage milkshake attack man convicted and sentenced

A man who threw a milkshake over Nigel Farage MEP during a political campaign tour of Newcastle has pleaded guilty to the attack at North Tyneside Magistrates’ Court today (18 June).

| Press Release , CPS, North East News

Newcastle man sentenced for live streaming bomb hoax

A Newcastle man who live-streamed a bomb hoax has been sentenced at Newcastle Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, North East News

Rapist who faked disability to avoid justice jailed

A multiple rapist who tried to evade justice by pretending to be wheelchair-bound and mentally impaired has been sentenced today, after being caught on camera climbing a drain pipe onto the roof of his house.

|

Public encouraged to have their say on the prosecution of people with mental health issues

The region’s top prosecutor is appealing to people from across the North East to have their say on how people who suffer from mental health issues are treated by the criminal justice system.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North East News

Prison officers found guilty of non-recent abuse at Medomsley detention centre

Five former Prison Officers have been convicted of offences relating to the ‘brutal’ physical abuse of young prisoners at a detention centre in Durham during the 1970s and 1980s.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North East News

Hartlepool Man found guilty of murder of ex-partner in street attack

A Hartlepool man who brutally stabbed the mother of his three children, has been convicted of murder at Teesside Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , North East News

Man jailed for targeting grieving families with online abuse

A man who admitted targeting Facebook memorial pages with sickening messages has been jailed for 14 months today (15 Oct) at Newcastle Crown Court.

| Press Release , Cyber / online crime , CPS, North East News

Newcastle pair jailed for New Year’s Eve murder

Two men who launched a fatal attack on a Byker man in an attempt to obtain his bank details have been convicted at Newcastle Crown Court today (13 Nov).

| Press Release , Violent crime , North East News

Doctor jailed for secretly photographing and recording female patients

A doctor who was found with more than 19,000 images and videos of women patients taken in his surgery has been jailed for 14 months.

Thair Altaii secretly filmed and photographed the patients during medical consultations over a number of years at his Sunderland surgery.

|

Pair sentenced for drug-fuelled murder

Two men who launched a violent attack on an acquaintance following a night of drug use have been sentenced for his murder at Newcastle Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Violent crime , North East News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading