CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 32 results for area "East Midlands"

Life sentence for Derby knife murder

A young woman from Derby has been given a life sentence for a knife murder in the city. Clara Butler (22) was convicted of murder for stabbing Lance Martin during a late-night brawl in Normanton and was handed a life sentence on Thursday 12 September.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Dating site rapist guilty of further sex offences

A rapist who preyed on women he met on dating website Match.com has been convicted of sexual offences against five further victims.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, East Midlands News

Life sentence for Leicester rape and attempted murder

A Leicester man has been sentenced to life in prison for the rape and attempted murder of a woman in a park in the city.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Jail for Lincoln transphobic abuse

A Lincoln man has been jailed for four weeks for abusing a transgender woman in Lincoln High Street. Matthew Pearson shouted abuse at his victim and made threatening gestures in incident in July 2018.

| Press Release , Hate crime , East Midlands News

Derby street robber guilty of manslaughter of 100-year-old woman

A Derby man has been convicted of robbery and manslaughter for an attack on a 100-year-old woman. Artur Waszkiewicz attacked Zofija Kaczan as she walked to her local church on the morning of Monday 28 May 2018.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Leicester trio jailed for life for shop explosion

Three men have been sentenced to life in prison for murdering five people in an explosion in a shop in Leicester.

| Press Release , Violent crime , East Midlands News

Three men guilty of murdering five people following shop explosion

Three men who caused an explosion in a shop which killed five people have today (28 December) been convicted of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Ilkeston rapist jailed

An Ilkeston man has been sentenced to life in prison for rape and attempted murder following an attack in November 2017.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Violent crime , East Midlands News

Latvian human trafficking gang jailed for East Midlands plot

Nine members of an organised crime group based in the East Midlands and Latvia have been jailed for human trafficking offences against 28 victims.

| Press Release , CPS, East Midlands News

Father jailed for murder of two-year-old son

A drug dealer has today (30 October) been jailed for life, to serve a minimum of 24 years, for the murder of his two-year-old son.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, East Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading