CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 130 results for area "London North"

Married man arrested in London phone box for trying to meet children

A married man has been jailed for six years for sharing indecent images of children and trying to meet children

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, London North News

Man jailed for stabbing Islington mum out with toddler

A man who brazenly stabbed a mother in a daylight attack as she pushed her toddler’s pram has been jailed for four-and-a-half years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Islington paedophile who made children watch him have sex is jailed

Alarm was only raised when the man’s partner and the mother of the two children called Islington Council to report the sexual abuse.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , London North News

Racist man sentenced for two hate crimes after abuse towards Jewish family

A man who shouted "one, two, three, Heil Hitler" and "go have a sausage sandwich" at a Jewish family has been jailed for 12 weeks for hate crimes.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, London North News

Man pleads guilty to killing toddler Alfie Lamb

A man has pleaded guilty to killing his girlfriend’s three-year-old son after crushing him in the footwell of a car.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man jailed for swallowing 67 cocaine wraps before flying from Brazil to Heathrow

A man who swallowed 67 wraps of cocaine before taking a flight from Brazil to London has been jailed for four years.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, London North News

Gumtree fraudster jailed after conning rental property victims

A fraudster who conned six victims into paying a total of £12,318 for deposits on rental properties in east London which he was not entitled to rent out has been jailed.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , London North News

Police officer found guilty of £18,000 crash-for-cash fraud

Hardeep Dehal, a serving Metropolitan Police officer, has today (24 July) been found guilty of planning to fraudulently claim £18,415 in a staged crash-for-cash with a Tesco delivery van.

He was sentenced to 30 months’ immediate custody.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Jealous boyfriend who claimed victim stabbed herself found guilty of murder

Michael Rolle stabbed Charlotte Huggins in a New Year's Day attack.

| Press Release , Violent crime , London North, London South News

Convicted killer Kasim Lewis to serve 40 years for second murder

He admitted to killing Cathy Burke in her home weeks before murdering bar maid Iuliana Tudos on Christmas Eve 2017.

| Press Release , Violent crime , London North News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading