CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 23 results for crime type "Drug offences" & area "CPS"

Newton Heath man jailed after gun and hand grenade found in van

A 54-year-old man has been jailed for eight years for being in possession of a gun, hand grenade, ammunition and Class B drugs earlier this year.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, North West News

Wrexham man jailed after drugs and shotguns found in shipping container

A man has been jailed at Mold Crown Court for possessing shotguns without a licence and possession of class A drugs with intent to supply.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Man sentenced for drugs offences and trafficking child

A man has been sentenced at Swansea Crown Court for trafficking a child to Llanelli in order to sell drugs.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Manchester drug dealers jailed for county lines 'cuckooing' operation in Cumbria

Three 19-year-old Manchester men have been jailed for a total of nine years for forcing a vulnerable drug user to become involved in the sale of drugs in Cumbria.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, North West News

Dark web drug dealer jailed after rebooting world’s biggest online drug marketplace

A dark web drug dealer has been convicted after he rebooted notorious trading website Silk Road when it was shut down by the FBI.

| Press Release , Cyber / online crime, Drug offences, Sexual offences , CPS News

Cocaine smuggling gang sentenced to 120 years over Cornwall boat plot

A gang who tried to smuggle £112m worth of cocaine into Cornwall on a boat have been jailed after a CPS/NCA prosecution.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS News

Kingpin of North Wales drugs gangs sentenced

The boss of a multi-million pound Class A drug-smuggling operation, has been sentenced to ten years’ imprisonment.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Boyfriend found guilty of the manslaughter of Louella Fletcher-Michie

A musician who supplied his girlfriend with an illegal Class A drug at a festival has today been convicted of her manslaughter by gross negligence.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, Wessex News

UK Border Force official convicted of gun-running

A UK Border Force official has been convicted of working with other men to smuggle drugs and firearms into the UK.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, London South News

Drug-dealing pair convicted after hiding £1m of cocaine in electric compartment hidden inside bookcase

Drug dealers who hid £1m worth of cocaine in a secret remote control activated compartment inside a book case have been jailed for a total of 20 years.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, London South News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0906

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading