Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast
Main content area

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 4 of 4 results for crime type "Drug offences" & area "CPS"

Nationwide Organised Crime Gang sentenced

Eighteen members of a gang who ran a county lines drugs operation stretching from north Wales and Merseyside as far as Anglesey, Cornwall and Scotland have been sentenced to a total of nearly 147 years’ imprisonment, with individual sentences ranging from 4 to 21 years at Mold Crown Court.

| Press Release , Drug offences, Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Aylesbury drugs gang jailed

Members of a cocaine-trafficking gang operating out of Aylesbury have been jailed today.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Oxford grooming gang jailed for sexually abusing teenage girls

Members of a grooming gang who sexually abused girls in Oxford in the late 1990s and early 2000s have today been jailed for a total of 49 years.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Drug offences , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Drug dealers who targeted Liverpool's night life sentenced

Fourteen of sixteen defendants have been jailed for a total of 47 years following a conspiracy to sell drugs in the heart of Liverpool’s night time economy.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Please note that our Press Office is only able to deal with issues or queries from journalists. Anyone else should visit contact.cps.gov.uk.

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Kate Hinsley
Email: Kate.Hinsley@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0258

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Sabriyya Rasul
Email: Sabriyya.Rasul@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3519

Will Spencer
Email: William.Spencer@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3531

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0559

Florence Williamson
Email: Florence.Williamson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3398

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Chief Press Officers

Hywel Barrett
Email: Hywel.Barrett@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3457

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top