CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 68 results for area "South East"

Pride in how hate crime is tackled in Surrey

Hundreds of Surrey residents have been learning more about what’s being done to tackle hate crime as part of the first ever Surrey Pride event.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, South East News

Robber jailed for over 20 years for attack that killed elderly woman

A violent burglar who terrorised an 84-year-old woman in her home has been jailed for more than 20 years for manslaughter.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

CPS successfully prosecutes second major modern slavery case this month

A father and son have today (29 July) been convicted for their roles in long-running conspiracy to exploit Eastern European workers they trafficked into the UK.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS, South East News

Five men jailed in relation to ATM thefts

A gang of five men have been jailed for conspiracy to commit burglary and robbery for a combined total of more than 30 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime , South East News

Husband sentenced to over 16 years for killing his wife on Christmas Day

A man who pleaded guilty to murdering his teenage wife on Christmas Day last year has been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of 16 years and 82 days in prison.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

CPS accepts Sally Challen’s manslaughter plea

The Crown Prosecution Service has today accepted Sally Challen’s guilty plea to manslaughter on the grounds of diminished responsibility.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Raiders disguised as police convicted over attempted robbery on home

A gang of intruders who held up a family home masquerading as policemen have today (12 April) been convicted of conspiracy to rob.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Lorry driver found with 21 illegal migrants hidden in wooden crates jailed for six years

An HGV driver who smuggled 21 Vietnamese nationals – a large number of them children – into the country inside a refrigerated lorry has today (26 March) been sentenced to six years in prison for assisting unlawful entry into the UK.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS, South East News

Man who stabbed neighbours to death in Kent convicted of manslaughter

A man who stabbed to death two of his neighbours at their home in a quiet Kent village has today (19 March) been convicted of manslaughter by diminished responsibility.

|

Trio guilty of killing fisherman on the River Thames

Two brothers and their cousin who savagely attacked a man fishing on an island in the Thames have been convicted of killing him.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, South East News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading