CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 108 results for area "West Midlands"

Wesley Streete sentenced for rape, sexual assault and murder

Wesley Streete, 20, who was convicted on 5 August of the rape and murder of Keeley Bunker and the rape and sexual assault of three other victims was sentenced today at Stafford Crown Court to detention for life with a minimum term of 30 years.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Death of Belly Mujinga: CPS statement

Suzanne Llewellyn, Deputy Chief Crown Prosecutor, said: “Belly Mujinga’s death from COVID-19 aged just 47 in April was a heartbreaking event that shocked the country.

| Press Release , CPS, West Midlands News

‘Friend’ who was trusted to walk a woman home safely convicted of her brutal murder

A man who raped and killed a 20-year-old-woman after agreeing to walk her safely home following a concert has today been convicted of her murder.

| Press Release , Sexual offences, Violent crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Dangerous serial rapist sentenced to life imprisonment

A serial sex offender who carried out a string of stranger and domestic rapes spanning 22 years has been given a life sentence today (27 July 2020).

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Successful domestic abuse prosecutions during the COVID-19 pandemic: CPS West Midlands

CPS West Midlands Magistrates’ Court unit successfully prosecuted domestic abuse cases during the COVID-19 pandemic. Below are just a few cases prosecuted between March and June 2020.

| Press Release , Domestic abuse , West Midlands News

Man jailed for falsely imprisoning and raping a woman in Nuneaton

A man who falsely imprisoned and raped a woman in her 60s has been given a 17-and-a-half-year sentence.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Coventry man jailed for 13 years for rape

A Coventry man has been jailed for the rape of two vulnerable women.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

CPS West Midlands: Successful hate crime prosecutions in March and April 2020

Our lawyers successfully prosecuted hate crime cases in the West Midlands in March and April 2020. Among those targeted by the defendants were police officers, security guards, a 15-year-old schoolboy, and a mother and her six-year-old child. Below are just a handful of the cases we prosecuted.

| Press Release , Hate crime , West Midlands News

UPDATED: Former dance teacher jailed for new child sex offences

A former dance teacher has been jailed for new child sexual offences, after being imprisoned two years ago for previously sexually assaulting his pupils.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , West Midlands News

CPS West Midlands: Successful COVID-19 prosecutions – March to May 2020

CPS West Midlands Magistrates’ Court unit successfully prosecuted 78 COVID-19-related cases over the past three months including incidents of emergency workers and key workers being assaulted, threatened, coughed at and spat on by people claiming to have COVID-19.

|

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading