Skip to main content

Accessibility controls

Text size
Contrast

CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 11 - 20 of 685 results for area "CPS"

Man sentenced for sending malicious email after Bristol statue toppled

A 72 year old man from Merseyside has been sentenced for sending abusive messages to the Mayor of Bristol after protestors removed the statue of Edward Colston in the city in June last year.

| Press Release , Cyber / online crime , CPS News

Reading Park killer given whole life sentence

The man who carried out the terrorism related murder of three men and the attempted murder of three others in a horrific two-minute rampage last summer will have to spend the rest of his life in prison.

| Press Release , Terrorism, Violent crime , CPS News

CPS statement on decision to discontinue the prosecution of two men for merchant shipping offences

Joanne Jakymec, Chief Crown Prosecutor said: “On Sunday 25 October 2020 a distress signal was sent from the Nave Andromeda oil tanker once it had reached UK waters.

| News Item , International and organised crime , CPS News

CPS explains decision not to continue the prosecution of two men for merchant shipping offences

There has been some concern about the CPS decision not to continue the prosecution of two men in relation to merchant shipping offences in October. We want to explain the legal reasons for this decision as much as we can to aid public understanding of this outcome.

| CPS says , CPS News

Cruel Cyber Voyeur Sentenced

Akash Sondhi, 27, who hacked into the computer accounts of nearly 600 girls and young women to exploit them for his own gratification has been sentenced to 11 years for blackmail, voyeurism and cybercrimes.

| Press Release , Cyber / online crime , CPS, East of England News

New CPS guidance on charging for police and prosecutors

NEW legal guidance to set updated rules on charging criminal cases has been published by the Director of Public Prosecutions today.

| Press Release , CPS News

November's coronavirus review findings

The findings of the CPS review for completed prosecutions in November under the Coronavirus Act and Health Protection Regulations are detailed in the table below.

| Press Release , CPS News

Role of grooming of women involved in violent crime examined as part of new gangs guidance

Prosecutors working on gang-related cases which involve women and girls should consider if there is evidence they have been forced or groomed into committing crime, according to new legal guidance published today.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS News

Killer convicted of anniversary revenge murder in Southwark park

A killer who stabbed to death the man he believed was responsible for his younger brother’s murder 18 years before has been convicted of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Man found guilty of brutal murder of teenager and sentenced to life

16-year-old Louise Smith went missing on 8 May 2020. Her body was found 13 days later in a remote part of Havant Thicket, following an extensive search conducted by Hampshire Constabulary.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Search CPS News

   

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Rosie Wigan
Email: Rosie.Wigan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Florence Williamson
Email: Florence.Williamson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Robert Cox
Email: robert.cox@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3398

Chief Press Officer (National)

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Chief Press Officer (Regions)

Sophie Court
Email: sophie.court@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0700

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff
  • Content that explains the role of the CPS and how we work
  • Highlighting of relevant work by our criminal justice partners and other stakeholders

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading

Scroll to top