CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 11 - 20 of 562 results for area "CPS"

CPS secures convictions in largest ever modern slavery prosecution

A Polish human-trafficking ring have been jailed after the CPS concluded the UK’s largest ever modern slavery prosecution and what is believed to be the largest prosecution of its type in Europe.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS, West Midlands News

Accountant who stole more than £1 million from Bermudan Government must return funds

An accountant who stole more than £1.35 million to live out a lavish lifestyle has been ordered to pay thousands in compensation to the Bermudan Government.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Racist convicted over abuse of betting shop staff

A Coral betting shop customer who shouted racist abuse has been convicted of a hate crime.

| Press Release , Hate crime , CPS, London South News

Hunting knife jihad plotter jailed

A teenager who planned to carry out a terrorist outrage in London using a hunting knife, or else use the knife to steal a Rolex to fund his travel to Syria has been sentenced to five years in prison today (28 June).

|

Couple who hid dead body in attic jailed

A heroin addict who murdered a man and hid the body in the attic has today been jailed for life and ordered to serve at least 22 years behind bars.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Woman who kept older woman captive found guilty of slavery offences

Maria Miller manipulated the victim to perform chores in both the charity shop she ran and in her Chingford home. She also sent the victim on the streets to collect money for her charity whilst she was emptying the victim's bank account.

| Press Release , CPS, London North News

‘Wimbledon prowler’ jailed for £500,000 spree

A prolific burglar who regularly travelled 200 miles from his home to break into wealthy homes in south London has been jailed for X years today.

| News Item , Violent crime , CPS, London North, London South News

‘Black cab rapist’ Worboys guilty of another four sex attacks

Serial sex attacker John Radford, formerly Worboys, has today (20 June) admitted drugging a further four women in his black cab.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

Soldier murdered Britain’s Got Talent singer

A former army fusilier has been found guilty of murdering his girlfriend in a frenzied knife attack at his Battersea home.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, London North News

Nigel Farage milkshake attack man convicted and sentenced

A man who threw a milkshake over Nigel Farage MEP during a political campaign tour of Newcastle has pleaded guilty to the attack at North Tyneside Magistrates’ Court today (18 June).

| Press Release , CPS, North East News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading