CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 11 - 20 of 677 results for area "CPS"

Killer sentenced for Adamsdown murder

A Cardiff man who attacked his vulnerable neighbour for shouting at his dog has been sentenced, four years after he was tried and convicted of the same assault.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

How prosecutors in CPS South East are working to close rape charging gap

Prosecutors and police forces in the South East have been working tirelessly to address the gap between reported rapes and cases reaching court.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, South East News

Crown Prosecution Service invites the public to comment on revised pre-trial therapy guidance

The Crown Prosecution service has drafted operational guidance on pre-trial therapy with assistance of experts and voluntary sector providers to enable all victims to receive the support they need.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

Grime musician jailed for 29 years for multiple rapes

Grime artist Andy Anokye, who performed under the name Solo 45, has been sentenced to 29 years at Bristol Crown Court today for raping, assaulting and imprisoning four women.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, South West News

Ex-MP guilty of sex attacks on women

A former MP has been convicted of sexually assaulting a woman and a female parliamentary worker in separate offences nine years apart. The crimes of Charles Elphicke, 49, came to light after he was reported to police and parliamentary authorities in late 2017 following the media publication of a list of MPs accused of sexually inappropriate behaviour.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS News

Dangerous serial rapist sentenced to life imprisonment

A serial sex offender who carried out a string of stranger and domestic rapes spanning 22 years has been given a life sentence today (27 July 2020).

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Thieves found guilty of killing PC Andrew Harper

A gang of thieves who dragged a police officer for more than a mile behind their car as it sped down a country lane have today been found guilty of killing him.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

CPS statement: Death of Christopher Kapessa

Jenny Hopkins, who oversees the Appeals and Review Unit within the CPS, said:

“Christopher Kapessa’s death was an awful tragedy and on behalf of the CPS I want to offer our deepest condolences to his family.

| Press Release , CPS News

CPS warns - don't get caught by COVID fraud

The Crown Prosecution Service has warned the public to beware of fraudsters exploiting the COVID-19 pandemic after a man was today jailed for 30 weeks for offering fake Government refunds.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London South News

DPP Speech to the Bar Council – 14 July 2020

Introduction Hello and thank you for having me. Firstly I’d like to offer my apologies that I am not able to attend every meeting of the Bar Council, but rest assured I do appreciate the Bar Council and our CPS representatives attend keep me updated.

| Speech , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Alex White
Email: alex.white1@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Kofo Baptist
Email: kofo.baptist@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0625

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading