CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 644 results for area "CPS"

London football fans sentenced for arranged fight before match

Six Brentford Football Club supporters have been sentenced for their part in a pre-arranged fight against Millwall fans on public wasteland.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

CPS statement on charges over the Bosley Mill explosion

Jenny Hopkins, head of the CPS Special Crime and Counter Terrorism Division, said: “Following explosions at a wood flour mill in Bosley on Friday 17 July 2015 which led to the death of four people and injuries to a number of others, the Crown Prosecution Service has authorised charges.

| Press Release , CPS News

Spurned ex-boyfriend jailed for the murder of Ellie Gould

A spurned teenager who murdered his 17-year-old girlfriend after she ended their relationship has been sentenced to Life in prison with a minimum term of 12 years and six months.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Wessex News

Man jailed after he was caught with loaded gun

A man caught with a loaded revolver has been convicted after a prosecution by the CPS.

| Press Release , International and organised crime , CPS News

Cleethorpes blackmailer sentenced to 40 months

Paul Snelson (23) has today (8 November) been sentenced to three years and four months at Grimsby Crown Court, after pleading guilty to 18 counts of blackmail.

| Press Release , Cyber / online crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Driver sentenced for car park manslaughter

A motorist who ran over a pedestrian in a Sainsbury’s car park has been sentenced for manslaughter at Cardiff Crown Court.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Driving offences , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Death of Dalian Atkinson: CPS statement

Jenny Hopkins from the CPS said: “Following the death of Dalian Atkinson in Telford on 15 August 2016, the Crown Prosecution Service has today authorised a charge of murder against a West Mercia police constable. A second police constable, from the same force, has been charged with assault causing actual bodily harm (ABH). Mr Atkinson’s family has been informed.

| Press Release , CPS, West Midlands News

Man found guilty of crossbow murder in Merseyside

A man who used a crossbow to shoot dead a man on a Merseyside street has been found guilty of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Teenagers guilty of Jodie Chesney murder

Two teenagers who killed a promising A-level student in a knife attack in an east London park have today been found guilty of murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, London North News

Father guilty of murdering his eight-week-old baby daughter

A father has been found guilty of murdering his baby daughter at their home in Bedfordshire in June last year.

| Press Release , Domestic abuse, Violent crime , CPS, Thames and Chiltern News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading