CPS News Centre

Female reporter - photo

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Latest news
Showing 31 - 40 of 234 results

Disclosure - Joint statement from Alison Saunders, Director of Public Prosecutions and Sara Thornton, Chair of the National Police Chiefs' Council

"Today we met with Chief Constables to discuss further how we can improve the disclosure process.

|

Two men sentenced to life in prison after murdering a businessman during a burglary

Two men who broke into a man’s house in Bournemouth and shot him dead during a burglary have been convicted of murder today (22 January) and sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum term of 34 years.

|

Man jailed for causing death of motorway Highway Officer and seriously injuring another

A motorist whose dangerous driving caused him to lose control of his car, resulting in the death of a highways officer has been sentenced to seven years imprisonment at Carlisle Crown Court today (19 January).

|

Fake witness summons emails

We have had reports today (19 January) of members of the public receiving emails which falsely claim to be from the Crown Prosecution Service. These emails include a summons to appear in court in relation to parking infringements.

|

People smugglers who used horse transporter jailed

Two people smugglers who conspired to illegally bring immigrants into the UK hidden in the back of a horse transporter have been jailed today.

|

UPDATE: Woman jailed for encouraging suicide

Natasha Gordon, 44, has today been sentenced to four years in prison at Leciester Crown Court for encouraging the suicide of Matthew Birkinshaw.

 

|

Criminal justice system comes together to discuss disclosure

Key figures from across the criminal justice system will be brought together by Director of Public Prosecutions Alison Saunders today to discuss how to improve the disclosure process.

The seminar will include representatives from the senior judiciary, police and legal professions.

|

UPDATE: GP guilty of series of sexual assaults on patients

Dr Jaswant Rathore, 60, has been sentenced today, 18 January, at Wolverhampton Crown Court to 12 years in prison after being found guilty of sexually assaulting four female patients at his surgery in Dudley.

|

Hacker admits international cyber attacks

A hacker who was responsible for thousands of cyber-attacks on firms around the world including Skype and Google has been jailed for two years.

|

GP guilty of series of sexual assaults on patients

A doctor has today (17 January) been found guilty at Wolverhampton Crown Court of sexually assaulting four of his female patients over three years at his surgery in Dudley.

|

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Follow our blog: blog.cps.gov.uk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Chief Press Officer

Richard Jones
Email: Richard.JonesRC@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0629

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Julie Seddon
Email: julie.seddon@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455933

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Anita Jack
Email: anita.jack@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2818

Thames and Chiltern
Louise Rosher
Email: louise.rosher@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0118 951 3640

Wessex
Marie Meunier
Email: Marie.Meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

 

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading