CPS News Centre

Female reporter - photo

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 31 - 40 of 293 results for area "CPS"

Crown Prosecution Service signs the Charter for Families Bereaved through Public Tragedy

The Crown Prosecution Service has today (21 March) become the first national public body to sign up to a new charter committing to treat families bereaved by major disasters in a sensitive and transparent manner.

|

Former students jailed after selling drugs on the dark web

A group of former students have been jailed for their roles in a network buying and selling drugs worth millions of dollars on the dark web.

| Press Release , Drug offences, International and organised crime , CPS News

Drink driver jailed for killing girl returning from birthday party

A man who drank nine pints of lager and took cocaine before crashing into a group of schoolchildren, killing a 16-year-old girl, has been sentenced to 10 years in prison for causing death by dangerous driving and given a nine year driving ban.

| News Item , Driving offences , CPS, London North, London South News

Teenager convicted for tube terror attack

A teenager from west London whose homemade bomb exploded in a packed rush-hour tube carriage has been convicted of attempted murder.

| Press Release , Terrorism, Violent crime , CPS News

Drug dealer jailed after 333kg of amphetamine found at his home

A drug dealer has been jailed today (16 March) after amphetamine with a street value of more than £8 million was found hidden at his home.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS News

Man jailed for 1980s rapes

A man has been sentenced to 23 years’ imprisonment after being found guilty of rapes against two women committed over three decades ago.

|

Man jailed for life for Aldi murder

A 44-year-old man has today been jailed for life after pleading guilty to the murder of Jodie Willsher at the Aldi supermarket in Skipton, North Yorkshire, where she worked.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Yorkshire and Humberside News

Woman who invented dead husband in Grenfell Tower fraud found guilty

A woman who pretended to be the widow of a Grenfell Tower victim so she could claim money and accommodation has been convicted of fraud.

|

Poppi Worthington

On 15 January 2018 the Senior Coroner for Cumbria, David Roberts, delivered a detailed narrative verdict at the end of the inquest into the tragic death of Poppi Worthington.

| Press Release , CPS, North West News

Hillsborough charging decisions

Families of the victims of the Hillsborough disaster have this week been informed of CPS charging decisions relating to two outstanding suspects.

| Press Release , CPS News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Follow our blog: blog.cps.gov.uk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Shannyn Quinn
Email: shannyn.quinn@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1296

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Email: southwest.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2921

Thames and Chiltern
Louise Rosher
Email: louise.rosher@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0118 951 3640

Wessex
Marie Meunier
Email: Marie.Meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading