CPS News Centre

Female reporter - photo

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 11 - 20 of 293 results for area "CPS"

Truck driver who mistook man for roll of carpet jailed over death

A truck driver who drove over a pedestrian he mistook for a roll of carpet in the road has today (April 17) been jailed for causing death by careless driving.

| Press Release , Driving offences , CPS, South East News

Gang members jailed for modern slavery

Two London gang members who trafficked a teenage girl to Swansea to deal heroin and crack cocaine have been jailed.

| Press Release , Drug offences , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Family convicted of forced labour and modern slavery

Members of a Slovakian family have today (10 April) been convicted of trafficking people into the United Kingdom and forcing them to work for little or no pay.

|

Former church minister jailed for historical sex offences

A former church minister has been jailed for historical sex offences committed over a period of 22 years.

|

Woman who invented dead husband in Grenfell Tower fraud jailed

A woman who pretended to be the widow of a Grenfell Tower victim so she could claim money and accommodation has been jailed for fraud.

| Press Release , Fraud and economic crime , CPS, London North, London South News

Benefits fraudster ordered to pay back £190,000

A woman who was jailed for making false benefit claims – including lying that she needed 24-hour care – has been ordered to pay back £189,725 to the taxpayer.

|

Man jailed for causing death by dangerous driving after three teens died

A drink driver who admitted causing death by dangerous driving after mounting the pavement in his car and killing three teenagers walking home from a birthday party has been sentenced to 13 years in prison today.

| News Item , Driving offences , CPS, London North, London South News

Men jailed for terror plot targeting Westfield shopping centre and Heathrow

Three men have been jailed today for planning a terror attack on high-profile targets including Westfield shopping centre and Heathrow airport. A fourth man was jailed earlier this month for having a prohibited weapon.

| News Item , Terrorism , CPS News

Manchester police inspector gets life for wife’s murder

A police inspector convicted of murdering his wife who was a detective constable on the same force has today been given a life sentence with a minimum of 19 years in prison.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Mersey-Cheshire News

Man sentenced for murdering ex-partner

A man who stabbed his ex-partner while she walked home has been sentenced for her murder at Mold Crown Court today.

| Press Release , Violent crime, Domestic abuse , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Follow our blog: blog.cps.gov.uk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Shannyn Quinn
Email: shannyn.quinn@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1296

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Email: southwest.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2921

Thames and Chiltern
Louise Rosher
Email: louise.rosher@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0118 951 3640

Wessex
Marie Meunier
Email: Marie.Meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading