CPS News Centre

Female reporter - photo

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Latest news
Showing 11 - 20 of 234 results

UPDATE: Man sentenced for raping teenage girl in Rotherham during early 2000s

A man who raped a teenager on two occasions in the early 2000s has been convicted today (9 February) in one of a series of trials connected to allegations of child sexual abuse in Rotherham.

|

Fake Grenfell survivor jailed for fraud offences

A fraudster who falsely claimed he was a survivor of the Grenfell tower fire in order to claim money intended for real victims has been jailed.

Anh Nhu Nguyen, 53, was sentenced at Southwark Crown Court today to 21 months in prison.

|

UPDATE: Men jailed for 15 years after stabbing three teenagers at Notting Hill carnival

Two men who stabbed three teenage boys in an attack at Notting Hill carnival have been convicted today (15 December).

|

Nursery worker jailed for sexually assaulting pupil

A nursery worker has been jailed for 12 and half years after he was found guilty of sexually assaulting a young child in his care.

|

UPDATE: Daughter and grandson sentenced for murdering Betty Guy

The daughter and grandson of 84-year-old Betty Guy, who died at her home in Swansea, have today (6 February) been found guilty of her murder.

| Press Release , Violent crime , CPS, Cymru/Wales News

Man sentenced for stirring up hatred against Muslims on Facebook

John Hanson, 61, sentenced after posting messages on social media to stir up religious hatred against Muslims.

|

Man who stabbed former girlfriend to death guilty of murder

A man who stabbed his former girlfriend to death in a frenzied attack at a busy shopping centre has today been convicted of her murder.

|

Man jailed for selling fentanyl on the Dark Web

A man who imported a class A drug to sell on the Dark Web has been jailed for eight years today (5 February).

|

Ex-surgeon guilty of lying in interview to get £84k job

A doctor who lied to an interview panel to get a job as a specialist cancer surgeon has been found guilty of fraud today. The jury at Worcester Crown Court heard how he exaggerated his qualifications and experience to secure the £84,000-a-year post.

|

Man given life for Finsbury Park terror attack

A man who deliberately drove a van into a group of Muslims near a north London mosque has been given a life sentence for murder and attempted murder. These were prosecuted as acts of terrorism.

|

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Follow our blog: blog.cps.gov.uk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Pip Rawson
Email: pip.rawson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0478

Natalie Robinson
Email: natalie.robinson@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0448

Senior Press Officers

Andrew McGill
Email: andrew.mcgill@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0044

Rob Singh
Email: rob.singh@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7801

Chief Press Officer

Richard Jones
Email: Richard.JonesRC@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0629

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Julie Seddon
Email: julie.seddon@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455933

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor / David Lindsell / Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937 / 020 3357 0087 / 020 3357 1994

Mersey Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Anita Jack
Email: anita.jack@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2818

Thames and Chiltern
Louise Rosher
Email: louise.rosher@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0118 951 3640

Wessex
Marie Meunier
Email: Marie.Meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Vinny Bolina
Email: Vinny.Bolina@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0121 262 1531 / 0121 262 1644

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

 

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading