CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 23 results for crime type "Sexual offences" & area "West Midlands"

Man jailed for sexual assault of autistic teenager

A man who sexually assaulted a vulnerable autistic teenage boy in Birmingham has been jailed.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Married police constable sought out sexual relationships with victims and searched for sex workers

A police constable has been sentenced today (10 July) to 14 months’ imprisonment after he pleaded guilty to five counts of the improper exercise of police powers and privileges.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , West Midlands News

Serial sex offender jailed for life

A CONVICTED sex offender who raped a stranger outside a nightclub has on 15 April been sentenced to life imprisonment with a minimum of 7 years to be served in custody.

|

Serial sex offender jailed for life

A convicted sex offender who raped a stranger outside a nightclub has been sentenced to life imprisonment on 15 April with a minimum of 7 years to be served in custody.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Driving instructor convicted of rape and child sexual offences

Martyn James Rees (37) has today (22/3/19) been convicted of rape, child sexual offences, possession of extreme pornography, sexual assault and attempted sexual assault following a trial at Stoke Crown Court.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , West Midlands News

Police officer jailed for making indecent images of a child

Paul Davies (57) has been sentenced to nine months’ imprisonment for making indecent images of a child. He pleaded guilty to the offence on 17 January 2019 at Dudley Magistrates Court.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Ex-Bishop convicted of sexual assaults

A former Bishop from the Catholic Church has today been sentenced to 15 months' imprisonment, suspended for 18 months, after he was found guilty of sexually assaulting two women.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , West Midlands News

Man jailed for 1989 rape

A man has been sentenced to 10 years' imprisonment after he found guilty at Stafford Crown Court of raping a teenager in 1989.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , CPS, West Midlands News

Two men jailed for sexually abusing teenage girls

Two men jailed for a total of 38 years for the sexual abuse and prostitution of teenage girls in Rugby and Coventry.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , West Midlands News

Tutor jailed for sexually assaulting students

A private tutor jailed to five years after being found guilty of sexually assaulting two students.

| Press Release , Sexual offences , West Midlands News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - (5pm-9am and weekends/public holidays) for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0673

Beth Currie
Email: Bethany.Currie@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3393

Rosie Arnold
Email: Rosie.Arnold@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0739

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3363

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading