CPS News Centre

Lynette Woodrow being interviewed by Cathy Newman on FGM

Criminal cases prosecuted by the CPS are in the news every day, along with a range of issues relating to our work – from hate crime and violence against women and girls, to support for victims and witnesses, statistics and speeches.

Here you can find our latest news stories and search for others.

Articles and speeches

Read articles and speeches from the CPS on matters of relevance to the Criminal Justice System

Articles and Speeches

CPS Says...

The CPS position on major issues in the news, our response to inaccuracies in media reports and our letters to the media.

CPS Says...
Latest news
Showing 1 - 10 of 14 results for crime type "Driving offences" & area "Cymru/Wales"

Driver imprisoned for killing passenger and injuring others

A driver who collided with an oncoming vehicle, killing one of his passengers, has been sentenced at Cardiff Crown Court.

| Press Release , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Man sentenced for causing fatal collision

A speeding driver who killed the passenger in another car has been sentenced at Cardiff Crown Court.

| Press Release , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Driver sentenced for killing cyclist

A taxi driver who caused a crash in which a cyclist died and two others were seriously injured has been sentenced at Cardiff Crown Court.

| Press Release , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Driver sentenced for killing construction worker

A motorist who collided with a construction worker on a Newport roundabout has been sentenced for causing death by dangerous driving.

| News Item , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Three motorists sentenced for dangerous driving

Three men who drove dangerously along roads in North Wales before uploading the footage to YouTube have been sentenced at Mold Crown Court.

| Press Release , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Driver convicted of causing death by dangerous driving

A man who crashed into another vehicle on the M4 killing a pregnant woman and her unborn child has been convicted at Swansea Crown Court.

| Press Release , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Farmer crashes tractor whilst intoxicated

An intoxicated man driving a tractor which collided with another vehicle has been given a custodial sentence today.

|

Drivers sentenced for road race fatality

Two drivers who raced at speeds in excess of 70mph on a 30mph road in Barry and caused the death of a mother-of-two have been sentenced today.

| Press Release , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Driver convicted of road race fatality

A driver who raced at speeds in excess of 70mph on a 30mph road in Barry and caused the death of a mother-of-two has been convicted today (28 November 2017).

| News Item , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Bus driver sentenced for causing death by careless driving

A bus driver who caused the death of an elderly woman after hitting a stationary car and trapping her underneath it has been sentenced at Cardiff Crown Court today.

| News Item , Driving offences , Cymru/Wales News

Search CPS News

   

Contacts: National media Toggle accordion

National media should contact the numbers below with enquiries and requests for interviews or other facilities:

General press office number: 020 3357 0906

Out of hours: 07590 617233 - for emergency queries only

General e-mail: cps.pressoffice@cps.gov.uk

Follow us on Twitter: @cpsuk

Individual contacts

Press Officers

Yasser Mehmood
Email: yasser.mehmood@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7725

Nick Martin
Email: nicholas.martin@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0203 357 0673

Vacant
Email:
Telephone:

Senior Press Officers

David Lindsell
Email: david.lindsell@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 0906

Alan Jones
Email: alan.jones@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3300 3388

Chief Press Officer

Lisa Ettridge
Email: lisa.ettridge@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 3357 1459

Head of News

Rob Smith
Email: rob.smith@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 020 7147 7547

Contacts: Local media Toggle accordion

Cymru/Wales
Richard Paull
Email: richard.paull@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02920 803950

East Midlands
Graham Buchanan
Email: Graham.Buchanan@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0115 852 3343

East of England
Gillian Andrews
Email: gillian.andrews@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01245 455027

London (North and South)
Christian Taylor/Nazia Dewji
Email: london.communications@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 020 7147 7937/020 3357 1994

Mersey-Cheshire
Jackie Rand
Email: jackie.rand@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0151 239 6334

North East
Chris Black
Email: chris.black@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0191 260 4216

North West
Anne Collins
Email: Anne.Collins@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01772 208283 / 01772 208267

South East
Cheryl Pendry
Email: cheryl.pendry@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 01227 655862 / 07876 390054

South West
Gary Cockram
Email: gary.cockram@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0117 930 2968

Thames and Chiltern
Angie Patton
Email: Angie.Patton@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 01189 513625

Wessex
Marie-Dominique Meunier
Email: marie.meunier@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 02380 673809

West Midlands
Riddhi Mardania
Email: Riddhi.Mardania@cps.gov.uk
Telephone: 0121 262 1583

Yorkshire and Humberside
Elizabeth Ogborn
Email: elizabeth.ogborn@cps.gov.uk
Telephones: 0113 290 2839 / 07500 835186

   

Our Twitter Policy

If you follow us on Twitter, you can expect tweets covering some or all of the following:

  • Operational updates on decisions to prosecute or take no further action;
  • Reactions and statements on trial outcomes;
  • Policy updates from the Director of Public Prosecutions and other prosecutors;
  • Updates on media appearances by CPS staff.

We will aim to be fair and accurate in all the information we publish. We will aim to correct any inaccuracies as soon as possible.

We are unable to monitor Twitter round the clock. We are not able to engage with all those who seek a response from us due to resources but also due to privacy and the sensitive nature of some of our work. The best way to contact the CPS is through our website.

Please do not try to report crime using Twitter. To report crime, please call 101 or visit your local police station. In an emergency, always call 999.

If you follow us on Twitter we will not automatically follow you back. Being followed by us does not imply endorsement of any kind.

#HateCrimeMatters

Our social media campaign #HateCrimeMatters explains what hate crime is, and what can be done about it.

Continue reading

Follow us on social media

Keep up to date

Further reading